Exploring Columbia

My professor assigned us to take pictures of a variety of places around Columbia, Missouri. Most of them are either important city landmarks or little-known spots throughout the area. It took three of my friends and me three days to find and photograph all 25 spots on the list. It’s amazing to me that even with Mapquest, my knowledge of the city I’ve gone to college in for three years, and help from people we stopped to ask along the way, there were still landmarks in this relatively small city that are hard to find. This was mostly a pain in the butt at first, but it was really kinda fun once we got started.

We were blessed with pretty great weather for our quest, and it brightened the job considerably. The first and third days we drove to the farther away places, and the second day we hit all of the downtown locations that are walking distance from MU’s campus and my house. Finding things that I’d passed a million times and never noticed before reminded me how quickly I usually rush through life, without pausing to take it all in. Searching for the farther away things opened up parts of Columbia that I never even realized existed. So here it is, my photo scavenger hunt of Columbia. Enjoy!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/28483994@N06/

 

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exploring Columbia

  1. teddy says:

    Why waste your time with MapQuest when the much better maps.google.com is available? Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

