Friendship

“The blessing it is to have a friend to whom one can speak fearless on any subject; with whom one’s deepest as well as one’s most foolish thoughts come out simply and safely.” -Dinah Maria Mulock Craik, A Life for a Life

If there’s one thing that will get you through life more surely than anything, it is your friends. I cannot imagine life without friendship, and I don’t want to. It is nothing short of a miracle. People are so very difficult to live with, and friends often bear the worst of us. They experience our foulest moods, our most ridiculous moments. They know our inadequacies well, because they’re always there to lift us up when we fall. We hurt our friends, and they forgive us. We ignore our friends, and they wait for us. We depend on our friends, and they don’t let us down. Because they haven’t only seen the worst of us, but also the best. They know the deep contents of our hearts, the essence of our souls. Our friends have laughed with us more than anyone, known the sheer joy of existence, felt that everything will be perfect as long as we have each other.

Your true friends make you a better person. They are infinitely forgiving, never judging, but don’t just let you do whatever you want. A close friend tells you when you’re being an idiot. If necessary, they intervene to save you from yourself. If God didn’t bless me with the friends in my life, I would have gone off the deep end so many times. They keep me sane. They keep me alive.

Just a few acknowlegments:

Meredith- She knows what I’ll say before I say it. She loves me because I’m ridiculous. She takes all my crap, and laughs. She tells me when I’m wrong. She won’t sit back and watch me destroy my life. We need each other mutually. No matter how bad things get, life is good if we have each other.

Michael- How much more blessed could I be than to have a boyfriend who is also a best friend? He forgives me, even when I don’t deserve it. He makes me a better person. When I’m with him, I feel free and everything else melts into the background. We can’t not have fun together. He’s as insane as I am…yet totally in control and responsible. He loves nature as much as I do- we explore the world together. He gives me hope for the future.

Amy Lynn- My sister! I miss her so. We can tackle anything, from selling home improvement door-to-door to planning a wedding in three months to being burned like lobsters from our foolish sunbathing. Wine helps. Watching Platinum Weddings helps more. She’ll always be a part of my life.

Others- Jon, David, Ashley, Becca, my parents, my roomies, my Cru girls, my high school friends. I’m blessed by so many awesome people!

“Oh, the comfort – the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person – having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pouring them all right out, just as they are, chaff and grain together; certain that a faithful hand will take and sift them, keep what is worth keeping, and then with the breath of kindness blow the rest away.” –-Dinah Maria Mulock Craik, A Life for a Life

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friendship

  1. Mere says:

    Nikki, I love you. This (+ the card) absolutely made my week. I definitely don’t know where I’d be without you!

  2. Anonymous says:

    You have to know what is important in life and you are definately on the correct path with this one.

Leave a Reply

