Singin’ (and hiking) in the Rain

Today was wonderful- exactly what a vacation day should be.

St. Peters is unseasonably warm for a few days, so Michael and I were itching to do some hiking. Last night we agreed to rendezvous at his parents’ house in Defiance at 10:30 today to hit Klondike Park. Of course, it decided to rain today, but I wasn’t about to let a little water stop us. Initiate adventure!

When we got to the park it wasn’t raining yet, just really windy and ominous-looking. We hiked the scenic overlook trail, which gave us a great view from the top of a bluff looking down on the Katy Trail and the river. There was also a scenic power plant, which I claimed was built by Lewis and Clark as part of their expedition.

It was windy on the bluff before the storm

It was windy on the bluff before the rain

The storm was brewing in the sky above

The storm was brewing in the sky above

Then the rain started. It was light at first, so I managed to talk Michael into going on another trail. Much to my delight, it soon picked up into a pretty good storm. We walked around a little lake in the downpour, then hid out under a gazebo for a while. I snagged a kiss on a bridge over the lake in the rain, and announced that we were in a real-life cheesy romantic movie. I was skipping, puddle-jumping, singing, and taking pictures all along the way. It was a great little adventure.

Sheets of rain washed across the little lake in ripples

Sheets of rain washed across the little lake in ripples

Happiness is getting soaked and loving it

Happiness is getting soaked and loving it

Back at Michael’s house we donned warm, dry sweatpants and t-shirts and tossed all our soaking wet clothes in the wash. I played Rock Band with Sara most of the afternoon while Michael helped his dad fix some things around the house, after which he joined us. We made an awesome band with Michael on drums, Sara on guitar, and me singing. I love singing on Rock Band. I always love singing, and I guess I enjoy an audience, too. Mr. Laskowsky made us all burgers and fries for dinner, and Mrs. Laskowsky made apple cobbler for dessert. The night ended with three very dramatic rounds of Jenga and one episode of Survivorman.

I love my life.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Contentment, Life as we know it, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Singin’ (and hiking) in the Rain

  1. Mike says:

    gazeeeeebo

Leave a Reply

