Missing Misty

Another day of great weather. The high was 58 degrees today- mmmm, 58!

I couldn’t find anyone to go out with me, so I just walked some of the St. Peters trails by myself. The paved trails connect little city parks and follow a windy little creek protected by a thin tunnel of trees through residential areas, occasionally crossing a street and almost always in view of houses on either side. On a nice day, there will be plenty of people out on the trails. A lot of people were walking their dogs today, and I evaluated the pets enviously as they trotted by.

Then I passed someone with a dog who looked a lot like my old dog Misty. I wonder how ole Misty is doing these days. She was a reluctant Christmas present from my mom when I was in 7th grade. My mom really didn’t want a dog, but she broke down after months of begging and emotional  manipulation. (Yeah, I was that kid.)

When I was going away to college, my mom told me she didn’t want the dog. She went ahead and took care of Misty for another six months or so while I diligently searched for just the right home. I’d had Misty for five years, I wasn’t about to abandon her to just anyone. I created a facebook group called Give Misty a Home, which got lots of interest and sympathy, but nothing substantial. I put fliers in grocery stores, and eventually found the owners I was looking for. They came over so Misty and I could get to know them and feel comfortable. We exchanged email addresses and became friends on facebook. I was told to come and visit whenever I wanted.

Misty loved playing in the snow

I only visited Misty twice after giving her away. It was too sad. For a long time I’ve wanted to contact Heather and ask how Misty’s doing. But the pessimist in me is afraid. What if something happened to Misty? What if she doesn’t have her anymore? I don’t think I want to know. Maybe I don’t want to go over there and see that my spunky energetic dog has gotten old, and that she doesn’t have a clue who I am anymore. I guess Misty’s about seven or eight years old now…that’s getting old for a dog. She lived with a boyfriend and girlfriend…I don’t even know if they’re still together. If not, who got the dog? When I had Misty, I didn’t have nearly enough time for her, and she was often a nuisance. But I still think about her sometimes and miss her. I hope she’s happy.

The trail also took me right behind my high school. I stood for a little bit staring at how it has changed in just a few years, and marveling to myself at how much I’ve changed in that amount of time.

Change is hard sometimes, but that’s life. I’m happy with the way mine is going. It was a strange walk, but I enjoyed it.

The gaze of affection

The gaze of affection

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

