Unpacking Memories

Unpacking boxes that my mom got out of storage recently has unearthed a plethora of blasts from the past.

I found a lot of my old stuffed animals. Ringo the raccoon, “pretty baby” the cloth doll (made for me by my great aunt when I was a baby and named when I was a toddler), and Tom the pound puppy were all there.

Another box yielded a bunch of video cassettes of old movies and cartoons, many of them recorded off TV when Josh and I were little. Conveniently, the satellite is out at Michael’s house, so he found and hooked up an old VCR and I brought over a few classics. We enjoyed An American Tale: Fievel Goes West, and Ringo the Refugee Raccoon, which I’m guessing no one outside my family has ever seen or heard of. It came complete with some vintage 1980s commercials.

I’ve also reverted back to tapes for music, since my ipod is lost and I don’t have a cd player in my car anymore (thanks to someone breaking it). As for tapes, I found a treasure buried deep in the bowels of a box full of home videos I made with the video camera my dad gave me in 7th grade (that got decimated mudding on a four-wheeler a year or so later). Oh home videos…mostly homemade music videos…that’s a whole other story. Anyway, in that box I found “Seth’s First Solo Album.” It’s a tape of my friend Seth singing a bunch of his favorite songs, everything from Nsync to Enrique Iglesias to Blink 182 and Relient K, that he gave me for Christmas our sophomore year of high school. Seth provided his own voice-overs, commentary, harmonies, and “crowd” sound effects. He had a lot of guts. Michael had never heard it (probably cuz Seth didn’t want him to think he was gay), so we had an excellent time dusting off an old tape player and giving it a listen. Good work, Seth! I wonder if he ever made a second solo album.

Tonight, at my dad’s, Michael and I were working on a puzzle. I should say Michael was working on a puzzle, cuz I’m way too ADD for a 1500 piece puzzle- I try a few pieces in one spot and give up. While he was puzzling over it on the floor of my room, I pulled out and read excerpts from my spirals from junior high and high school- poems and journal entries dripping with the crazy drama of  my younger years. We laughed and shook our heads at what a psycho I was. We looked at our yearbook from freshman year of high school and marveled at the stuff that we liked back then and how stupid we were. We pondered whether we’ll look back on now when we’re 30 and think we were crazy or stupid. I bet we will.

This was gonna be a short post, but I just hit 490 words. I suck at brevity. Anyway, the times are changing, as always. The world is changing. I’m changing. But in some ways, I’ll always be the same. It’s fun to look back at how I got here and wonder where in the world I’m going.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Unpacking Memories

  1. Megan Wehrle says:

    I think I have Seth’s second solo album somewhere. We could sell them as a collection and split the profits.

  2. Nicole says:

    That’s an excellent idea! They’re sure to be big hits.

  3. Anonymous says:

    You change and will continue to change in the things that are superficial in life. I can personally vouch that you as a PERSON have not changed from day one. Your core values have remained rock solid and extremely admirable.

  4. Nicole says:

    This might come off as creepy if I didn’t already know who you are, Anonymous 🙂

  5. Anonymous says:

    Impossible, I’m Anonymous – Al Gore (He invented the internet you know, just ask him) assured me that anything sent over internet is utterly and completely confidential.

Leave a Reply

