The Jury’s Out

“You are hereby summoned for jury service in the United States District Court.”

Justice

I can’t understand why so many people try to get out of serving jury duty. I’ve been eagerly looking forward to my jury duty ever since I received the summons in November. As an avid viewer of TruTV (formerly Court TV) and a former public safety reporter for the Columbia Missourian, I’m really interested in criminal cases. I’d love to see the inner workings of a courtroom firsthand, not to mention the opportunity to take part in deciding someone’s fate and making sure they’re treated fairly. (As a side note, I was also really excited about getting paid $40 a day plus gas compensation- it’s a good gig for someone who’s unemployed.)

My two-week term on call started last Monday, but I was notified the Saturday before that I wouldn’t be needed the first week. That’s all right, I thought, I’ll still have the second week. Today I got the call that my start date was cancelled. They don’t need me after all. Jurors get dismissed for all sorts of reasons, and I guess I’ll never know why. Maybe all’s quiet in Mayberry (though St. Louis isn’t much of a Mayberry…) Oh well. Maybe someday.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Jury’s Out

  1. Mike says:

    I’m surprised you didn’t say how this whole thing botched up your christmas vacation plans, and then you don’t even get to do it. That’s why people try to get out of them, so they can plan their christmas vacations and be able to do fun and exciting things rather than staying at home and waiting to be called in or dismissed 😉

  2. Nicole says:

    Yes, that’s true. I was just so enamored with the whole idea of serving that I put aside the fact that I could have been backpacking in Texas or skiing and at DCC with Cru in Colorado or on some little short trip with you. I try not to dwell on it, because nothing can be done. Also I was so frazzled from the semester that part of me just wanted to sit at home with you and our families, stay up all night doing nothing and sleep til 1 PM, and not spend any money.

Leave a Reply

