Bananas beget baby boys???

Do bananas beget baby boys? I doubt it…but apparently it’s newsworthy enough to merit a story on NPR.

A British study suggests that what a woman eats while she’s pregnant might affect the gender of the baby. The study, You are what your mother eats, claims it found that women who ate lots of breakfast cereal, salt and potassium were more likely to give birth to baby boys. This, of course, would be a correlation rather than a cause-and-effect, and I would assume it’s a pretty weak/random chance correlation at that.

It sounds like a bunch of malarkey to me. But I must admit, when the time comes for me to start having kids, I would love to up my chances of a boy. Girls are just so high maintanence and emotional and, well…maybe I’ll be cramming bananas and breakfast cereal down my throat and dumping copious amounts of salt on my food, just in case. But seriously, I’m pretty sure the gender is determined at conception by the sperm having an x or y chromosome, right? Silly Britons.

Probably best to just leave gender selection up to the genetic process set up by God. He knows what he’s doing.

(If you want to read more about this, Google “You are what your mother eats.” It got a ton of coverage.)

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Nature, Random News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bananas beget baby boys???

  1. Anonymous says:

    I don’t think you have any choice but to leave the selection process up to God. You can do whatever you please but guess who has the final say?

Leave a Reply

