On the Job

“Work saves us from three great evils: bordem, vice, and need.” ~Voltaire, Candide

It has been far too long since I last pulled my own weight. That much was apparent when tax time came– I didn’t have to file my taxes, because I hadn’t worked for income in over a year. Granted, I reported for the Missourian, but it was slave labor. That was the reason I quit my last job– I didn’t have time for slave labor and a paid job. (I guess I technically could have done both. Other people did, and I hold them in awe and respect for surviving it.)

But my jobless stint has ceased! Tonight was my first night really working at my new job as a lane server at an AMF bowling alley. Not the most glorious job out there, but certainly not the lowest position I’ve held either. After about 10 or 15 minutes of training, I was pretty much out on my own for the rest of the night. (I’m technically in training for 2 weeks.) I was scheduled to work til 9:45, but the manager decided I should learn how to close, so I worked til a little after midnight.

It’s too early to say how much I’ll enjoy the job, but I really like working with people and getting to know them. Above all though, it just feels really good to be working and earning money. The manager and the lane server who was training me both commented on how fast I jumped in and what I good job I was doing. I get a little lazy with school sometimes (because I can get away with it), but when I have a job I love trying to be perfect at it.

Hopefully I can start getting the hours I want after I establish a good reputation with the managers and owner. For now, I’ll tough it out and never see my roommates. But I need something to take up some of my free time to force me to more carefully manage the time I’ve got. Overall, I’m feeling pretty good, and have a wallet full of tips to take to the bank. Yay, employment! 🙂

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

