What I (don’t) want to do when I grow up

I really need to be either studying or sleeping right now. I have a midterm tomorrow as well as a project of sorts for which I could be a lot more prepared. I closed again tonight at work (as I will be tomorrow also). It’s good to work, but this job is fairly exhausting. It’s gonna catch up with me really fast, especially now that I have a full-blown cold or the beginnings of something more heinous.

Long story short, this is not the time to be blogging. But I made a discovery tonight that needs revealing. I don’t like editing.

Maybe I do…maybe  I love conceptual editing, but I don’t get to do that yet. I certainly don’t like copyediting–at all. I thought I would since I’m such an English freak and grammar nazi. But I just don’t. During my years at college, I’ve been searching for what I like about journalism, slowly whittling down the list by discovering all the things I don’t like about journalism. I seem to be running out of things. And time. Hmm. Where do I go from here? Good thing there are no jobs available anyway. I can always wait bowling lanes for the rest of my life. Or become a roaming gypsy. Being more a lover of adventure than of money, I much prefer the latter.

PS- Michael has a blog now. Well, he’s had it for over a month, but he’s still getting acclamated to blogging. And now for a pingback! (I think that’s what it is.) Check out my boyfriend’s blog at http://thebiglaskowsky.wordpress.com/.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I (don’t) want to do when I grow up

  1. thebiglaskowsky says:

    Uh oh, so when do you get to do conceptual editing?

    Thanks for the ‘ping back’ or whatever it is. BTW I had 26 views today! Quite surprising since my blog kinda sucks and isn’t very interesting at all…

  2. Nicole says:

    Yeah? Well they don’t know if it’s interesting or not until they click on it. Now you just have to start writing exciting things so they’ll come back. Or just write whatever you want since that’s the point anyway.

Leave a Reply

