Sunshine and ponies!

{My critics have accused me of being too descriptive and emo. I always aim to please, so I will strive to make this a happy story with little to no adjectives or adverbs. Enjoy!}

She awakes with a smile. ๐Ÿ™‚ The sun is shining and birds are singing. “Another day!” she exclaims. She puts on her favorite yellow sun dress and skips to class. “It’s 65 degrees outside,” her professor says, “I’m canceling class. Go celebrate!”

“Yay!” she shouts. She plays with puppies all day in the park. Then she skips back home.

At 3:00 her perfect boyfriend calls her. “Hey, babe!” he says. “Guess what?? I bought you a pony because you’re beautiful!” She squeals with glee. “Honey, I don’t need a pony,” she says, “I already have a bunny rabbit!” He tells her not to worry, he’ll return the pony and buy her diamonds instead. What a prince!

“Today is the best day EVER!” she says.

“You said the same thing yesterday, silly,” he reminds her.

“I know! But life is so perfect, every day is better than the day before!” she says.

Her roommates come home from a wonderful day. They frolic through a field of daisies behind their house. The Beatles time-travel from 1969 and give them a live show. They play her favorite songs, the happy ones. “Here comes the sun, doo doo doo doo, here comes the sun! And I say, it’s all right.”

She spins in circles, feeling like she’s flying. “I’d like to be under the sea, in an octopus’ garden in the shade!” Paul McCartney proposes to her, but she says no thank you. He says they can still be friends. She giggles.

That night, she pulls out her Bible as she tucks herself into bed. “Clap your hands, all you nations; shout to God with cries of joy. How awesome is the Lord Most High, the great king over all the earth!” She claps her hands in joy as she reads. “God has ascendedย  amid shouts of joy, the Lord amid the sounding of trumpets.” She wishes she had a trumpet. She prays, “Dear God, thanks for making every day awesome!”

“Life is wonderful,” she thinks. She falls asleep with a smile. ๐Ÿ™‚

{Forgive the sarcasm. I just couldn’t help myself. The songs quoted are Here Comes the Sun and Octopus’ Garden. The Bible verse is Psalm 47:1-2, 5.}

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Contentment, Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunshine and ponies!

  1. Mere says:

    I like this one ๐Ÿ™‚ Although I think you’re a wonderful story teller so the other was good too. I would love to frolic with you when I come home today if you’re available.

    P.S. I’m very, very, very glad that you don’t have a trumpet ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Nicole says:

    Can’t you just imagine…you’re laying in your bed finally getting close to falling asleep when suddenly a trumpet starts blaring through the vents! That’s just my way of worshiping every night.

    What time are you coming home? I’m making a meal for Ronald McDonald House to deliver around 5ish and then working at 6.

  3. Mere says:

    I know that’s what you’d do. It’d be awful. I’d be even more incapable of sleep!

    I do believe I’ll be heading out in 22 minutes. I was going to stay until 4, but I can’t bear it.

  4. Nikki's #1 critic says:

    I love this. I’ve read it a couple of times and it still makes me laugh. It reminds me of fan fiction.

    There is one problem though. Why doesn’t God come down from heaven and give her a trumpet, so she can sing his divine word for all souls to hear?

  5. Nicole says:

    That’s a good question. God should probably have made a personal appearance, trumpet in hand. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it.

Leave a Reply

