LVR-Day 3

Training is going well and the staff members are really starting to develop relationships. I have my camp nickname- Tiger Lily. We were going for an Indian name, and the lily is my favorite flower and of course the tiger is a tribute to Mizzou. It’s a little long, so some people are calling me TL, and Hawkeye calls me Tiger.

We learned about facilitating initiatives on the low challenge courses today, and we’ll be practicing facilitating initiatives tomorrow. We have until next weekend before our first group of campers comes. There’s a lot of information to take in during training, but hopefully I’m getting it all. I’m a little bit nervous still, but feel way more confident than I did on day one.

Colorado is generally arid, but we’ve had lots of rain so far. Unlike Missouri’s downpours, it’s generally soft, light rain, so we just go out in it most of the time. It’s made fire-building more of a challenge, but with the help of some fire starter provided by Double M we got a pretty good one going tonight. Some of us sat by the fire for a couple hours after campfire worship ended. We talked about life and shared our different philosophies on a wide variety of topics including relationships, smoking, farting, sports, ghosts v. demons, Lord of the Rings, cologne… well, you get the picture. I love fire and random discussions, so it was pretty cool.

Today was the first day I didn’t get a chance to talk to Michael. I guess he was already asleep by the time we put out the fire and I headed up to the lodge. There will be many more to come. Once we have campers and I’m not able to get on the internet I’ll have to start writing letters. In a way, it can be an exciting experience for us- bringing it back to snail mail. I’ve been holding out, hoping he might actually get online still, but it’s getting rather late. It’s almost 12:00 here and I still have to shower, and get up really early in the morning. I guess it’s time to give in.

I apologize to anyone who stumbles across this post and isn’t a good friend of mine- I imagine it’s rather dull for you. Having no phone, this is the easiest way for me to communicate with everyone who might be wondering what I’m up to. All of my posts this summer will probably be more or less updates.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in LVR. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

