Continued adventures in training

Training is almost over- we get our first group of campers tonight after dinner! It’s still a gradual transition because we’re getting a high school group that does a lot of their own stuff, so we don’t have cabin assignments, we’re just leading them in activities.

I’ve learned a lot since I got here slightly over a week ago. I can now set up and belay the rock climbing and rappelling at Eagle Rock. I know how to facilitate most of the low ropes initiatives, tomahawks, archery, hiking to Inspiration Point, Stone Cabin, and Cedar Mountain. We’ll be doing the high ropes tomorrow. We’ve practiced a ton of games and other activities like fishing for rainbow trout with bamboo poles, playing water balloon volleyball, and chasing bears away from the dumpster…

…Oh yes. We had a bear trying to get into our dumpster, so QD and Hawkeye took off running after it. Maybe it wasn’t the best idea. At least QD grabbed a stick- Hawkeye was armed with only his arms. Ki (the cook) came out with a bowie knife. The bear was pretty big, but luckily the guys must have been pretty intimidating, because the bear decided he’d better run away. Since then there’s been talk of hunting the bear, skinning it, and making it into a stew. This might be legal…in self defense…but it’s really just guys talking macho.

We had our staff campout last night, and God blessed us by holding off the rain that’s been sweeping in almost every day thus far. Since I had my (aka Michael’s) zero degree waterproof sleeping bag, I was one of the select seven out of 18 of us who opted to sleep out under the stars instead of under a tarp lean-to. It was gorgeous, with a nice smattering of stars across the inky sky. I saw three shooting stars, and I didn’t watch for that long. QD gave a great devo and we had awesome campfire songs with 2 or 3-part harmonies.

The summer staff moved today from the little cabin we were staying in with no bathrooms or storage space into a really nice building known as the apartments with several rooms, a living room, a little kitchen and a couple bathrooms. It’s so nice. Perhaps the best part is that we get the internet in here. Most of the time I won’t be here because I’ll be staying in a cabin whenever I’m assigned to a group, but this will be home base for my extra stuff and a place to stay during time off. We hiked up Cedar Mountain yesterday, which was really pretty. I get cell service up there, so in the future some of my time off will be spent hiking up there to make phone calls.

The food is not bad at all, so I’m eating three whole meals a day for the first time in a long time. I’m adjusting to the schedule, too. I’ve never been a morning person by any means, but now I’m up between 7 and 7:30 every morning. As the summer progresses, I’ll probably start getting up even earlier. I think this summer is going to be really good for me, physically, spiritually, and emotionally. I’m challenging myself in a lot of ways, being separated from people in my life and giving things up that I think will really help my personal growth in the long run. I think I’m right where God wants me to be.

Basically, things are pretty awesome.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in LVR. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Continued adventures in training

  1. thebiglaskowsky says:

    Sounds awesome! You should probably know that just because my sleeping bag is synthetic doesn’t mean that it’s waterproof.

  2. Nicole says:

    Ok, so it’s not waterproof. But it’s definitely dew-proof, I found that out.

  3. PeterDallas says:

    It’s late at night, should have gone to sleep because I have to be up early (4:45 a.m.) for a 10 km jog but decided after a month or two break to see what Nicole has been up to. Now that you’re getting 3 meals a day perhaps you developed into a tempting meal for that bear! Hope that no posts for 17 days doesn’t mean the bear succumbed and ate you!

    Not sure about american sense of humor but that was joke!

Leave a Reply

