Avalanche

I want to write everything about my summer at LVR, but there’s way too much to tell. I want to get everything down so I can remember, though I can’t imagine forgetting. So I think I’ll describe my fellow staff members- the people I lived, worked, fought, cried, and laughed with for almost three months. An awesome group of people.

I’ll start with Avi. We all go by nicknames at camp- some of us get to pick our nicknames and others just get stuck with one, as is often the case with nicknames. Avi is short for Avalanche, her favorite hockey team, but people always think it’s “Abby.” Her real name is Hannah Koops, but that’s just strange for me to say. Avi comes off as quiet and maybe a bit timid, but once you get to know her, she’s opinionated and hilarious. She has a knack for noticing all the subtleties of people’s personalities and picks up on things that are happening beneath the surface. Avi is beautiful and compassionate, but she’ll never believe me when I tell her. She feels her every flaw and amplifies it.

Avi is a people-pleaser. According to personality types, she would be considered “amiable.” She has strong feelings but is almost always willing to let others have their way. She’s a great peacekeeper. But she rarely asserts herself, and so opens herself up to be trampled or pushed around. Luckily, if someone makes her mad enough, Avi can take a stand.

Avi and I first became friends when we were partners for first aid class during staff training. Manny the mannequin was like a son to us. I was pretty tired and even though I hardly knew Avi, she seemed like someone who wouldn’t be bothered by random snuggling, so I went for it. I scootched up to her and laid my head on her shoulder. Had she been creeped out by this, things might have gone much differently. Luckily, she didn’t think I was a total freak, and we had a great time laughing at the Red Cross videos (I mean…taking them very seriously, of course.) Later in the summer she asked me to marry her. I told her she could be my second backup plan, if Michael fell through and for some reason I couldn’t follow Meredith to grad school. That was good enough for her, so for the rest of the summer she called me wifey.

Avi was always there when I needed a hug…or a snuggling session. Everyone knows I couldn’t have survived the summer without a constant, healthy dose of physical touch. She put up with me singing “Don’t Wanna Close My Eyes” with her boyfriend during karaoke, and forgave me for wiping my greasy hands on his shorts during our cookout. She thought I was hilarious, which always made me feel pretty good. We laughed like crazy and achieved our ill-conceived goal of staying up later each night of the last week. A diehard KU fan, she claims to have thrown up in her mouth every time I talked about Mizzou. Even though our collegiate loyalties make us eternally arch rivals, Avi is one of my best friends and I love her to death. I would even consider visiting Kansas to see her.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in LVR, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

