My article in Vox

“My experience was not just the homosexual thing, it’s the story of a radically transformed life,” Alan Toigo says. “I am not the same person I was 10 years ago.”

This is the story I sought to capture. A deep struggle, a life lived in confusion and lies and the ultimate peace and comfort that one man found.

A whole year after I first proposed the story to John Fennell, is is finally published in Vox Magazine. I wrote the article for Fennell’s Intermediate Writing class last fall. This semester, he pitched it to Vox and they were interested.

For about a month, I’ve been diligently updating, doing additional reporting and re-writing it as my Vox editors have requested. I wrote seven different versions for Vox, ranging from 3,700 words to 1,500 words. Happily, we settled on an in-between length. I’m quite satisfied with the final product. The pictures look great and the print layout is wonderful.

Unfortunately, I find the online version a little short of an eyesore. The whole article is presented in a long, narrow column that offers little-to-no breaks for the eye. Alas, the online version is the one I’ll be sharing with everyone who doesn’t happen to be in Columbia. So here is the link. If you have the ability to actually get your hands on the print version of Vox, I would highly recommend it.

With no further ado, I give you my most recent publication:

http://www.voxmagazine.com/stories/2009/10/01/sexual-resolution/

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

