Days go by

“Days go by, I can feel them flying like a hand out the window in the wind. The cars go by, yeah it’s all we’ve been given so you’d better start living right now… We talk about tomorrow, then it slips away.”  -Keith Urban, Days Go By

Today I registered for the final semester of my senior year of college. I might not ever register for classes again. I’ve been in school since I was 3 years old. Finishing college might be a big deal. I’m only 3 classes away from fulfilling all my requirements, so I get to pick a totally random fourth class just for the sake of maintaining my full-time status and keeping my scholarships. I’m looking at a scuba class, but it’s really too expensive.

The passage of time has forced me into decision-making, something I generally put off as long as humanly possible. I finally decided last  week to apply for Advanced Writing as my primary capstone choice and for Magazine Staff as my secondary choice. I got my first choice, so that means I’m a writer and not an editor. I rode the fence between the two for at least a year. Editing seemed like less legwork. I’m decent at it, perhaps even good. But at the end of the day, I couldn’t get past the thought that I would truly miss writing if I wasn’t doing it, despite all the stress and work of reporting. It may be the first time in a very long time that I chose the path that seemed more difficult. I feel pretty good about it. More work and less money– I must be pursuing my passion.

That being said, I still have no idea what I want to do when I graduate in seven months. I’ve been considering becoming a teacher. That, of course, is the degree I chose to pass by for journalism. I would have to get an alternative teacher’s certification, which I could do in one and a half to two years and possibly be teaching during part of that time. I would also probably want to go to the seminary to get certified as synodically trained by the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod so that I could teach in a Lutheran junior high or high school. I don’t know how long that takes, or how much all of this would cost, or if it is what I am meant to do. But it’s out there, so I can’t yet say with confidence that I’m almost done with school forever.

I’ve also considered going into some sort of church work. I would love to do something like staff with Campus Crusade for Christ or work with high school youth groups. I might consider becoming a DCE (Director of Christian Education) or a Deaconess, or just trying to find a church that would let me do ministerial work. I’ve always wanted to be a pastor, but as it turns out I’m a little too much of a girl for that job in my church. I’d probably be thrilled to be a full-time housewife and mother if the economy would allow it. My only concern would be getting bored when my kids are too old to want/need me around constantly. I get restless.

All of this is to say that ready or not, life is coming at me fast. I know that God has a plan for me. I hope he lets me in on the secret someday.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

