Esquire Assignment

I’m supposed to be planning an issue of Esquire magazine for my mag editing class. I must pick a topic for the issue, then write a table of contents description of each story that will go in the issue, complete with bylines. Trouble is, I struggle to connect with Esquire’s readers. Some demographics of Esquire readers:

  • * 67.4% of readers are men.
  • * Median age is 46.
  • * Median Household income is $117,251.
  • * 23.8% hold top management jobs.

They are also highly educated, attend museums and live performances, buy their wine by the case and fly to foreign locations more than three times a year. I can’t relate to most of those things. Most importantly, I’m a chick. I’m less girly than a lot of girls, but I certainly don’t think like a middle-aged rich man. Hmm. What do they like? Politics? Booze? Half-naked women? I’m not sure. I want a catchy theme that can cover a lot of ground while being smart and edgy.

I should have blogged this sooner so I could ask for ideas. The assignment is due tomorrow morning. I need to channel my inner-Esquire. My friends have offered me these topic suggestions: hot chicks, fast cars, beer, music, bourbon, football, boobs, rocks. Hmm.

Good editors know how to think like other people. They know how to think like their readers. But I would never edit Esquire. My readers would have something in common with me. Bah. Back to the drawing board.

 

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Esquire Assignment

  1. Anonymous says:

    You need to think about what you have in common with men not what is different. How about an adventure issue? You could write stories about voyages around the world. Think Hemingway, shooting game in the safari, partying in Pamplona, climbing up mount kilimanjaro, or racing in Morocco. Men like to feel like they’re pushing themselves and they like danger. Any exciting world traveling stuff you would like to do men would like to do as well.

  2. Nicole says:

    That’s a very helpful comment- I wish I would have written this blog a day earlier. A travel/adventure issue would have been a great idea.

    I originally thought about doing an outdoor issue, but I was worried that I was just trying to turn Esquire into Backpacker so I’d actually like it. I ended up doing an issue on energy. You can do a lot of different things with energy. I think it turned out all right, but I’m not in love with it.

    Thanks for the idea. Sounds like you would be a better editor than me. Good thing I chose writing.

Leave a Reply

