Thanksgiving Break

I have so much I should be doing right now, but I’m tired of this semester. Research papers constitute the only type of writing I get to do this semester. I hate research papers. I used to think it was because they’re so much work and I’m lazy, but it’s really because they’re all about regurgitating someone else’s information, and that bores me. I would love to be writing journalism or fiction or even good essays. Something where I get to think and put my own creative imprint on it.

So while I procrastinate on my boring homework, I’ll write about my Thanksgiving break. Meredith and I stayed in Columbia for the Iowa State game on Saturday. Michael came on Friday and I managed to get him a cheap ticket. On Sunday night, Michael and I went camping at Klondike Park in Defiance. He’s in a photography class and wanted to get pictures of the sunset and sunrise at the park. I’m always up for photography and camping, so after a little whining about how cold it was gonna be, I gladly went along.

As far as camping goes, it was pretty lame. We were the only ones there, but the campsite was lacking in both rustic-ness and amenities. If it’s rustic, there’s no need for amenities. But if we’re right next to a parking lot with a streetlight, with picnic tables and fire ring, we might as well get a bathroom too. It’s part of the adventure to have no bathroom in the wilderness, but going on the ground here was just kind of annoying. The weather was nicer than I expected though, and we had fun.

We could hear the hum of the nearby power plant all night, so I told stories about how it was coming to attack us. I pictured the power plant sliding along the ground, trying to be stealthy, not realizing how huge and loud it is. In the middle of the night, the streetlight randomly went out. I said the power plant shut off the power in order to sneak up on us. A propeller plane flew over at one point, so I was certain that someone was searching for us. I don’t know why I was on the paranoia theme, but it was fun. I really loved the sunrise. It was so beautiful and peaceful it made me want to be up at sunrise more often. But knowing myself, I won’t be getting up that early too often when there’s no occasion. After taking pictures of the sunrise, we made oatmeal, then went back to sleep until noon. Like I said, not really a morning person. When we got up the second time, we biked 20 miles to Dutzow and back on the Katy Trail.

Other highlights of the week: I ate at Pi’s Pizza with my dad’s family and at Longhorn Steakhouse with my mom’s family. I went out to a bar on Main Street in St. Charles with my brother and sister-in-law and their friends. That was an interesting experience. It was fun because people bought me drinks, but it was too loud and smoky for my taste, and our designated driver was over an hour late and charged a full tank of gas. Luckily Josh paid it. Got home and didn’t have my keys, but my mom was still up and let me in. Jane bought me a Beatles puzzle at a garage sale, so we worked on that.

Thanksgiving was good but hectic. I started at my mom’s house in St. Charles, then went to my aunt’s house (my dad’s family) in South County, then to Michael’s grandma’s in Washington, then to our friend Scott’s in New Melle. I was pretty impressed that we made it everywhere, but it was a long day. My little car is holding up pretty well considering everywhere I drive it. Went to lunch and a movie with my mom, grandma, aunt and three cousins on Friday. We saw Old Dogs with John Travolta and Robin Williams. It was pretty good for the kind of movie it is. I was happy to be not shopping on Black Friday.  You couldn’t pay me enough to go near a mall on that day.

I drove back to Columbia on Friday night and hung out with Meredith and Aaron. Saturday Mere and I drove to Kansas City for the MU vs. KU Border Showdown football game- the last football game I’ll ever attend as a Mizzou student. The weather was great and we sold our extra tickets for a profit and won the game. Now here I am, mildly anxious about all the stuff I need to get done, but not trying to do it. I guess I better get at it. Break is over.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

