Winter is here

Advent is underway. The first snow dusted the ground, though hardly any stuck. I made snickerdoodles for my last day of Sociology class. Sparky’s has egg nog ice cream – it is perfect. We put up a wreath and a little fake tree and lighted garland in our townhouse.

We tried to visit the Magic Tree this weekend. The guy who does it calls himself Will Treelighter and is pretty wacky, but it always looks amazing so everyone goes. We went too late at night so the lights were turned off on the tree. Instead, we bought chips and salsa and watched disc 2 of The Fellowship of the Ring (we watched disc 1 before leaving).

The Magic Tree when I visited it in 2007

Once the pesky little matter of finals get out of the way, I have my last Christmas break to look forward to. It should be a good one. Michael and I are headed to Colorado for the LVR staff reunion and hopefully some other adventures.

I love and hate winter. I hate the cold and the dismal gray that depresses me. But I love the first snow, and how everything looks encased in ice. I hate the commercialized Christmas and how materialistic everyone is. But I love the real excitement of the holiday and everyone getting together. I love the church hymns and the Christmas lights and egg nog. Happy winter!

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

