John Lennon

John Lennon was shot to death 29 years ago today. The world wouldn’t let him have the peace he sang about. But the world can’t forget him.

I don’t agree with everything he said or stood for. I can imagine no countries and no possessions, but I’d rather not imagine there’s no heaven. I don’t think I want to imagine all the people living for today…it seems empty and selfish and hopeless. And I think some things are worth dying for. I don’t agree with everything he stood for, but I understand that he was searching for the best ways to find peace and brotherhood and selflessness.

I think what’s probably most striking is the fact that he was a visionary. Although people called him the brains of the Beatles, he was an idealist, too. We don’t find too many of those in life. Oh sure, there may be plenty of closet idealists, but it all amounts to nothing if you aren’t willing to stand up and say I won’t just accept things the way they are. I see a better world and I’m going to do something about it. John Lennon tried to do that. He used his success as a platform to promote his beliefs. I wonder what the world would be like if more people lived striving to achieve their ideals.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to John Lennon

  1. Anonymous says:

    I can’t believe he’s been dead for 29 years. He was dead before I was even born, but he’s still made an enormous effect on my life, maybe more than anyone else.

    I can see what you are saying about a life without religion being empty, but whether Lennon realized it or not he did have a religion. His religion was people and love. He wanted to unite all the world’s people and in his mind religion was divisive. He wanted the people of the world to focus on making this world a better place and he saw worrying about an afterlife as counter to his goal.

    Whatever you think about his ideas you have to appreciate his passion and openness. I do. I also really appreciate the way he balanced his strength with his sensitivity. It’s an enormously difficult thing for a man to do. You can’t take charge if you aren’t pushing forward, but at the same time what’s the point of being in charge if you have no regard for others feelings. John was great about that. He was a leader who could be a bit of a prick sometimes, but deep down he cared about everyone around him.

  2. Nicole says:

    Yeah, I can certainly understand religion being divisive. That’s why I commented on no heaven but not on no religion. I think in an ideal world there would be no religion. I see religion as an institution that attempts to organize faith and spirituality. People need organization, but too often they replace faith with religion. Religion is all about practices and rules and keeping up appearances. That’s when it becomes divisive and fake. Maybe Lennon didn’t have a problem with spirituality, or with faith that gave people hope and inspired them to love.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I don’t think John viewed heaven as optimistically as you. He was a populist, but he had communist leanings. I don’t know if you’ve ever read Marx, but his famous saying is religion is the opiate of the masses and I think Lennon agreed. He saw promises of heaven as ways for elites to control the masses. Lennon was preoccupied with class warfare. It’s more obvious after he leaves the Beatles. Working class hero is a definite example. It’s a difficult thing to understand, but John Lennon thought by dismantling heaven he was standing up for the poor because he viewed promises of heaven as exploitation. Does that make sense?

    I see things more the way you do. Religion has the potential to be damaging, but only if you’re doing it for the wrong reasons. It shouldn’t be about keeping up appearances. It should be about striving for the best possible self. I also think everyone needs to follow their own path. There are aspects of Christianity that interest me more than others. I’ve always liked the story of Jesus and the Lepers because I view risking one’s on well-being to help others as the greatest possible good. I view courage and compassion as the greatest traits in human beings. At the same time there are whole books of the bible I don’t even bother reading.

Leave a Reply

