Ready or not, here comes life

With only one semester of college between me and “the real world,” I should probably be making a plan.

The opportunities are endless. I can be whoever I want to be. I can do whatever I want to do. Theoretically. Trouble is, I have no idea where to start.

Life has been easy for me so far. But I have a feeling life after college won’t be so simple. It’s time to burn my security blanket. I’ve learned that I only have control over myself, not over anyone else. Knowing is half the battle. I cannot count on or plan for anyone but myself after May 15. So that’s Step One. Keep it simple. Focus on myself.

Starting a career is no cake walk. I thought picking a college was difficult – I was mistaken. I look over the campus recruiting information sent out to J-School students each week. Most of the offers are for advertising and PR, with a few for newspaper. If anything does come up for magazine, it seems so prestigious and competitive that I’m too intimidated to apply. Step Two: determine what I really want to do. Lots of prayer and self-examination. Is it magazine? Is it journalism? Or something else entirely?

I’ll take baby steps. First, find a part-time job in Columbia. I’m fresh out of money. Maybe trips to Colorado and DC were not in my budget. Next, make use of this last semester: good grades, a few more clips, something for my resume and hopefully some good memories. After graduation I’m going back to Colorado to work as Adventure Staff at LVR. Maybe not the best career move, but I’m confident it’s the best life choice for me. I hope money and conventional success never rule my life. After that, who knows? I try not to worry. God will provide.

This is too long. No one will want to read it. But it has helped me organize my thoughts a bit.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

