Being productive

Today was the beginning of the end of my college career. I want to write, but I’m pretty distracted. I have to figure out for sure that an online class I’m taking will count towards my hours so I can drop my creative writing poetry class. I would love to take it, but it’s not practical to pay for a class I don’t need that won’t necessarily help my career. I’m also taking creative writing nonfiction, which I anticipate will be more fun and useful for me.

I’m also trip planning. I leave for Washington, DC on Thursday for the March for Life. I used to go every year, but have missed the last two. I’m glad that I’m going, but it’s stressing me out. Right now I’m trying to book a taxi from the airport and figure out how much it will cost. Taxis are expensive.

Today I was excited to discover that my creative writing teacher was a wilderness guide for four years and a guy in the class worked as a backpacking guide at Yosemite. I’m eager to get to know them and read their stories. Sounds like a dream job to me. Paid to backpack and writing in the free time, it doesn’t get much better than that.

I’m formulating a workout schedule that will get me in shape for LVR. Not much is certain about my future, but I am certain that I want to go back to Colorado this summer. I plan to work on adventure staff so I want to be pretty fit. Right now the plan is P90X Ab Ripper (crazy workout video) and a half hour at the Rec Center on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays and an hour at the Rec on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Currently, I mostly do cardio at the Rec, but I want to add in some weight training. I don’t want to build big muscles, but some arm strength makes a big difference in rock climbing. I don’t know much about weight training, so hopefully I can find a workout buddy who does. Once it gets nice outside, I’ll add in a lot of cycling and hiking.

I don’t have much time left in college. Hopefully I won’t waste it.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Being productive

  1. PeterDallas says:

    Hi Nix How about this for an idea..become a sports journalist and visit south africa for the FIFA world cup… you haven’t lived until you been to Africa!

  2. Nicole says:

    There’s an idea.

Leave a Reply

