The domestification of Nikki

Is domestification a word? No. Am I doing it? Yes.

I’m going to be graduating in May. After that, I’ll spend the summer being a mountain woman and teaching kids about Jesus in Colorado. After that…I got nothing. No plans. No job prospects. No idea what kind of job I want. Or where I’ll live. Or anything.

So I figure I should at least make sure I’m useful in some capacity. I need to be more domestic.

The task that’s given me the most trouble is cooking. I could be good at it if I had unlimited time, money and mouths to feed. As it is, I only feed myself on a low budget and usually don’t start thinking about a meal until I’m hungry and in a hurry. But I’m working on it. Thanks to Michael I have a sweet knife set. Together, we’ve made a delicious mango pork tenderloin with rice pilaf and mango chutney. We also made a killer meatloaf with garlic parsley mashed potatoes. All from scratch. (Okay, we bought chutney, but real homemade chutney takes a long time and lot of expensive ingredients.)

Tonight I made chicken fried rice. I marinated the chicken in teriyaki and soy sauce in the fridge for 2 days. I cut the chicken into strips and cooked it in a pan with oil. In another pan, I sliced up carrots with a bit of oil. After a while, I added celery to the carrots, then cashews at the last minute. I made vegetable fried rice in a pot (this was cheating – I used Knorr’s rice; it’s really fast.) I realize it’s not that complicated of a meal, but it’s much more effort than I usually go through for myself. I was fairly pleased with the way it turned out. Maybe I’m useful after all.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The domestification of Nikki

  1. Pingback: The domestification of Nikki »Coolweather

  2. Nicole says:

    What? What is the meaning of this? It appears my post has been commandeered by some other site. Very interesting.

  3. thebiglaskowsky says:

    woah, that’s weird… they stole your post. Congratulations on the chicken! I think I ate leftover shells with meat sauce that night. Not very exciting.

  4. Nicole says:

    You clearly need a good woman in your life to cook you dinner. I wonder where you can get one of those? (Sorry, feminists.)

Leave a Reply

