The Fourth State of Matter

I just read The Fourth State of Matter by  Jo Ann Beard for my nonfiction creative writing class. It is extremely good. Extremely. I hope to write like this someday, though I hope never to have an experience like this to write about. This was a personal history piece published in The New Yorker. My only complaint is that I want to know more. I don’t want it to end. I need a sequel in which we find out what happens with the two biggest unresolved issues (I won’t name for fear of spoiling something).

If you’re interested in good writing, read this. But I warn you, I nearly cried. Had I read it on a different day, I would have cried. Such good writing. So real. This is the kind of stuff that reassures me that yeah, I really do want to do this.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

