Hey, it’s Friday.

Snow is falling in huge wet flakes that instantly turn to slush on the ground. I finally got a good night’s sleep. I had a dream that wasn’t bad – the first in months. I ate a decent lunch: pasta with green pepper and mushroom red sauce to which I added basil and shredded gouda.

I don’t feel happy, but I feel OK. Just blah rather than miserable. It’s a start. I want to write some fiction, but currently have no story ideas. I need to be working on my nonfiction; my first essay is due Thursday.

I also need to be eavesdropping, but I really don’t want to. We are doing an assignment on dialogue for Advanced Writing. I am supposed to go to the gym and listen in on people’s conversations. I’m supposed to convince them to let me do this and to give me their names because I’m a journalist. I guess the journalist title gives me some privileges that I am none too eager to use. But Berkeley thinks it’s a great idea. Just let me go back to the cave, that sounds much better. It could be worse. Some poor kid got assigned the funeral home. He’s already attended one stranger’s funeral uninvited and is now working on going to a visitation and burial. I think I would be a consciencious objector if that were my assignment.

Perhaps I’m just not curious and nosy enough to be a truly good journalist. Reporting is always the worst part. I just want to write. This is one of my least favorite reporting assignments to date. The worst was for the Missourian, going to the house of a dead motorcycle accident victim to try and talk to someone who knew him. Luckily, no one was home. Maybe if I’d done that, this would be easier.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Contentment, News. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hey, it’s Friday.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Let’s get some fiction. I”ll help you brainstorm. You need motorcycles. It’s an absolute must. No one should tell a story without motorcycles. Ok now that we have motorcycles the second thing any story needs is characters. Do you want a male or female lead? Once we get the lead we can find a dilemma from then.

  2. Nicole says:

    Hmm. Motorcycles are good. My only concern is that I’ve never ridden one. Do you think that’s a problem? Well, I’ve ridden one, but never driven one, if that’s the proper term. Hopefully someday when I’m a successful writer I’ll have a motorcycle and time to take it on a roadtrip across America. Maybe that’s what I should write about. A writer on hiatus roadtripping across America on her motorcycle. What do you think?

  3. Anonymous says:

    For you that sounds perfect. It’s obvious at this point you struggle to get out of your head, so why not stop trying. Completely immerse yourself in your own brain while you immerse yourself in America. You could be the next Keroauc.

    You could call it Spiritual Longing on the Highway. I guess we’re in non-fiction territory now, but I would read that book for sure.

  4. Nicole says:

    It’s true, that’s my biggest struggle. That’s why I study journalism, to practice writing about other people. It worked for Hemingway. But my free writing is always about myself. Even when I write about other people (such as the LVR staff blogs), it is in the context of their relationships with me. I feel like this is a bad thing, but maybe it isn’t. Some successful writers only do memoir-type stuff. It’d be cool to be a travel writer.

    The motorcycle story can’t be nonfiction at the moment because I have neither motorcycle nor money nor time to accomplish this trip.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I don’t think your selfish if that’s what you think. You’re just someone who’s interested in thought process, how does behavior develop in the brain. You write a lot about your own thought process because it’s right there for you.

    It’s hard for you to write about other people because you can never know exactly what they are thinking, which is why I think it would be good for you to write fiction sometimes. That’s why Hemingway wrote fiction.

    You can still write non-fiction though. It just takes more time and confidence. You did a great job with the straightening piece. Don’t be afraid to ask people what they are thinking and don’t be afraid to ask if what you’ve written is ok.

Leave a Reply

