Good day sunshine

“I need to laugh and when the sun is out I’ve got something I can laugh about. I feel good.” -The Beatles, Good Day Sunshine

It’s a pretty cheesy song, but seems appropriate. There are a few things I could credit with my mood improvement. One is the sun. Even if it’s still cold out, the sunshine makes a huge difference in how I feel. The world seems less heavy.

Another is my boyfriend. He showed up at my house yesterday to surprise me with a beautiful bouquet of flowers. This was especially sweet since he had to work last night. He drove an hour and a half each way and could only stay 25 minutes before heading back to work. He knew I had a bad week and needed a pick me up. Hugging him made me a feel a lot better, and now I have the flowers to remind me every time I see them. I’ll add a picture of the flowers later. They’re pretty great.

Flowers from Michael

I saved the best for last: God. I’ve been struggling on my own because I feel like I need to take charge of things. But my mom, my friend Matt (Curly) and Jamie reminded me that God is just waiting for me to ask for help. I know people have been praying for me the last few days and it has helped tremendously. The power of prayer is awesome. God is taking the pressure off. My job right now is not to have everything worked out and perfectly planned. My job is to rely on God, to listen and follow, to love other people. Everything else will fall into place.

My laptop stopped letting me connect to the wireless internet, so my access is a bit limited right now. I will try to get on frequently at the library and hopefully figure out the problem soon. Thanks everyone for the support and keep reading. I leave you with a song that is my prayer today. It says, “this world has nothing for me,”  meaning I need to readjust my thinking. My joy and fulfillment come from God. Instead of asking what the world has for me, I should be seeking what I can give to improve the world. (Yes, slight idea snatching from JFK. Ask not what your country can do for you…) But it’s true. My struggle is a result of selfishness. Time to get the focus off me.

“I need you Jesus to come to my rescue. Where else can I go? There’s no other name by which I am saved. Capture me with grace. And I will follow you. This world has nothing for me.” -Newsong, Rescue

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Contentment, Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good day sunshine

  1. thebiglaskowsky says:

    Remember, selfishness is one of the signs of a gambling addiction… 😉

  2. Nicole says:

    Oh, Michael. I’m so helplessly addicted to gambling, I just don’t know what to do! I sold my laptop so that I could bet on the Super Bowl (that’s really why I don’t get internet at home). I bet on how many times Chase Daniel would show up on TV during the game (I think it was 3). I’ve been entering Bianca into rabbit races and eating and sleeping competitions. (She’s significantly better at the second two.) I bet on whether or not Meredith’s flight would be delayed. I bet on how many inches of snow we would get. I bet on whether or not you would comment on this post.

    Haha. Ok, so the last bet I actually made was probably with you for some sort of insubstantial prize that I never paid off. I always lose when I bet against you. But I win, because I don’t pay. Gambling is great.

  3. thebiglaskowsky says:

    Wait, there are eating and sleeping competitions!?!? Where do I sign up?

  4. Nicole says:

    For rabbits. Do you think you could pass as a rabbit? This could be big money.

  5. thebiglaskowsky says:

    I could totally pass as a rabbit.

Leave a Reply

