A little work, a little play

Yesterday was awesome. It was lovely out so I biked to Capen. After I rode around for a while, I locked my bike up to a tree and went hiking. I’ve done all the trails around Capen, so I wandered off and followed a deer run into the woods. I found an ancient tree that was leaning over a big hill leading down to the creek. It was an easy incline, so I climbed up and sat for a while dangling my legs and soaking up the day. If you’re having trouble feeling close to God, try praying while perched in a tree and watching the sunlight glisten off the creek below. Amazing. I hiked back to my bike and rode the scenic route home via Hinkson Creek Trail to the MU Recreation Trail to the MKT Trail to its terminus in Flat Branch Park downtown. The trails were soggy and washed out and I got mud all over myself. I even had a clump of gray dirt stuck to my eyelid when I got home. Very satisfying.

I intended to work on Design after eating. But Meredith and Becca were both home and spending time with them seemed like a much better plan. We hung out at home for a while, then walked to Sparkys and Lollicup. We tried on random dresses in expensive boutiques downtown. Back home, we watched What Not to Wear and some wedding show. Four Brides? Something like that.

After Jeremy got off work, we all went to Addisons where Aaron met us for happy hour specials. Crab rangoon dip and lobster ravioli and Mediterranean style nachos are all fantastic (and expensive).  It was a good night.

Now I’m at the library working on the design I wanted to get done yesterday. It’s not due til Monday so I’m doing all right. I’m done as far as I’m concerned. But I’m waiting for an email back from my TA who will probably tell me it’s still horrendous. Last time she looked at it, she told me it was hard to focus on little details when my whole layout was kind of a disaster. Sweet. I thought it was pretty good. It’s completely different now so maybe this time she’ll like it. I’m proud of it, but I know nothing about design.  I’ve been at the library for three hours, so I think I deserve some lunch and perhaps a little frolic. Off I go!

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

