Just keep swimming

Recent news:

My Oma got out of the hospital today after spending 17 days in with blood clots and breathing problems. I am so glad she’s finally getting better and can be comfortable at home again.

The health care bill passed today. I’m extremely displeased that there’s no amendment prohibiting my tax dollars from funding abortion. Insurance plans may be required to provide abortion coverage. Let me tell you, this is not over.

I had a refreshing but busy weekend. I went home to St. Charles because my sister-in-law Amy was in town and to visit Oma in the hospital. It was great to see my family. Amy, my friend Shannon and I went wedding dress shopping in STL on Saturday. I learned that it is a terrible idea to try on a dress that’s over budget “just for fun.” Don’t do it. Fate will make you fall in love with that insanely expensive dress. I did. But I’ll get over it. Both sets of parents took me out to eat and there was wine and champagne to celebrate my engagement. It would have been perfect if only my fiance were there. He had to stay in Rolla and work.

My car wouldn’t start after a dentist appointment on Friday. It was gorgeous out so I walked to my high school and hung out with Jon in his office. I called my dad and he decided to leave work and rescue me. We went back to my car and it started. Seems to be fine now. We went for a bike ride and watched basketball.

Mizzou won their first round game against Clemson. In their second game, they came close to West Virginia but lost. Kansas lost their first game to Northern Iowa. Awesome. Purdue beat Texas A&M. Other than that, I don’t really care.

I’m thankful for professors who understand life and care about me. I emailed my Advanced Writing professor today with a sorry excuse of a rough draft for my profile. I told him how hectic life is and that I feel a little behind but hope things will pick up soon. He wrote back: “As the movie Nemo said: Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming.” And he concluded his email with a YouTube video of the Nemo clip. Some people just know how to make me feel better. Now I must sleep. And so I leave you with this.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just keep swimming

  1. FYI says:

    “Executive order promised to limit abortion funds

    A key group of anti-abortion Democrats, meanwhile, was assuaged by a last-minute promise of an executive order from Obama stating that the provisions in the health care bill comply with the 32-year-old Hyde Amendment, which sharply restricts federal funding for abortion.”

    From CNN

  2. Nicole says:

    Yes, I know. But Obama has repeatedly made it clear that expanding abortion rights is a priority. He said what was needed to get the bill passed. There’s nothing to make him keep his promise. Even if he does, executive orders don’t necessarily have teeth.

  3. Nicole says:

    The president shouldn’t override Congress. But states can override the federal government. The Missouri Senate is trying to do so right now. Hooray for democracy.

    http://www.columbiamissourian.com/stories/2010/03/22/missouri-senate-committee-advances-bill-ban-abortion-coverage/

Leave a Reply

