Fleas, sleep disorders and serial novels

Pretty sure our rabbit has fleas. Poor little Bianca. But how did she get them? We don’t have any other pets, and she rarely goes outside (like twice a year), except for being transported from house to car to another house in her travel cage. Fleas are hard to get rid of in rabbits. They lick themselves like cats and have very sensitive digestive systems, so you have to be careful not to let them ingest too much flea powder. I should probably stop laying on the floor with her. The last thing I need is fleas. My hair is so long…that would definitely suck. I get itchy just thinking about it. We had fleas for a while at our old house because of the nasty cat that lived there before us. I didn’t get them then; hopefully I won’t get them now. Yuck!

This week has gone crazy fast. I still don’t feel back in routine after Spring Break. At the same time, I can’t believe Spring Break was only a week ago. Time is playing tricks on my mind. I’m done with classes for the week, but still have plenty to get done. I’m interviewing a couple swim coaches today for the profile I’m working on. It will probably be fairly casual. It’s the first interview and we’re meeting for lunch. It can only go an hour because at 2 p.m. I’m going the to MAP (Missouri Association of Publications) Annual Summit to schmooze with journalists and listen to Mark Kramer speak.

I still  need to take the final for my online course. I’ve finished all the lessons, so it’s just whenever I have time to study for it and go into the CDIS office to take it. I don’t want to put it off too long lest I forget everything I’ve learned. It’s tricky too because the office closes pretty early and they require you to show up 2 hours before closing time in case you need the full time allotted for the test. I had two hours to take the midterm– and finished it in under 20 minutes. It’s multiple choice, how long could you possibly take? Either you know it or you don’t. Fortunately, I know it. I’m going to get almost a perfect score in the class. It helps that I’m interested in the subject. It’s the psychology of sleep disorders. And I’m pretty sure I have one.

I want to start writing fiction again. I got an idea last night and started writing it out. It’s probably going to be longer than the short stories I’ve put up here before (Short Story From Peace Park, Lacy Green Panties, Sunshine and Ponies). Maybe I’ll post it in several installments. Like a serial novel. But not as long as a novel. Then again…who knows? I’ll probably start posting my nonfiction essays soon as well. Might as well get my writing out there. Maybe I can garner some anonymous critiques. So be looking for that stuff, hopefully soon.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fleas, sleep disorders and serial novels

  1. Rachel says:

    Re: the fleas – when we lived in California we always had to give my cat medicine for fleas, even though she was an inside cat that never was outside. Somehow they just sneak inside, I guess! For some reason I was always under the impression fleas weren’t a big deal in Missouri, as we haven’t had to give her flea medicine since. I figured it was the cold weather. Hope you’re rid of them soon!

  2. Steph says:

    Don’t fret too much, fleas don’t really like humans. I think we’re too oily, but you know how heavy my hair is, and we live next to a field and have outside dogs, so my poor cat has been fighting a life-long battle against the little buggers, and I’ve never caught them more than passing (no nesting population, just random body flea bites from furniture and holding). They can live in the upholstery/carpeting for up to two years (or 13 months, I can’t remember which) before hatching, so they just lie in wait for a small furry co2 source to wake up (why they’re so impossible to get rid of) so it’s possible that she got them from the previous inhabitants. Also, your socks can carry them in from outside or from other animals and it only takes 1 fertilized female to start an infestation!
    Rachel-I like your cold weather theory! no idea if it’s true or not, fleas are a pretty big problem here when the owner thinks they’re a problem…but I don’t feel like we’re over run (at least in my experience)

  3. Nicole says:

    Thanks for the flea insights. I’m glad to hear they don’t like humans. My hair is almost waist-length and the thought of fleas just gives me the heeby-jeebies. Hopefully we can relieve Bianca of her pests.

  4. FoolsGold says:

    Fleas don’t have to like humans. The fleas first detection system is actually olfactory: the flea smells an approaching mammal then other sensory mechanisms let it select its target and its as perfectly willing to find a human as not. By the time it decides you are too oily, you’ve already transported it into your home. By the way, the flea isn’t all that annoyed at a human’s environment, it just prefers other mammals.

    Psychology of sleep? Fascinating. If you ever have to do a paper on a sleep topic you might want to study why people are so foolishly accepting of sleep apnea being related to weight management issues rather than being a disease of the kidney.

  5. Anonymous says:

    There is a magazine in Chicago called The Lutheran that is looking for interns. You might consider applying there.

  6. Nicole says:

    Thanks, I’ll look into it. I haven’t launched much of a job search yet because I’ll be out of touch in Colorado for almost 3 months and will probably narrow my search to where ever my fiance finds a job.

Leave a Reply

