Time waits for no one

I graduate in just over a week. This promises to be one of the longest weeks of my life.

My final Design project is due Wednesday morning. I haven’t made much headway on it, and it’s an incredible amount of work. I need to pack and move out of my house before graduation. This involves borrowing Opa’s truck and arranging for at least one strong man to help me with the heavy lifting. I’ve already taken a few loads home, but it’s astonishing how much stuff one accumulates in a year. I still need to get a physical and tuberculosis test for my summer job. Should probably schedule that soon.

I need to fill out an insurance application since I’m getting dropped from my current plan the day I graduate. I already filled out one application, but one tiny past health issue bumped me up into a higher price bracket. Back to the drawing board. I need a cheap plan that will cover my emergency expenses should something happen during a grand adventure while working in Colorado.

Speaking of Colorado, I need to plan and pack for the summer. I don’t know how I’m going to transport everything since I’m flying and don’t want to pay the exorbitant airline fees for extra or oversized baggage. I remember the good old days when checked bags were free. Last year I FedExed my backpack, tent and other outdoor supplies. But I need that stuff first this year since week 1 is adventure staff training. Michael might be coming to Colorado for the summer. If he is, he’ll be driving and I can load up his car with my extra stuff. But we still don’t know. Nothing like last minute planning.

Tomorrow my mom is coming in for a half weekend. We’re going to Jeff City on Saturday so she can see the wedding dresses I like there. Other than that, I haven’t figured out what we’ll be doing. But I’m sure it will be great. It’s been a long time since we’ve had a quality mother/daughter weekend. Life gets so busy. We used to take a kayaking trip together each year. Maybe I’ll have more time post-graduation, but that’s an extremely naive thought. Saturday afternoon my mom and I are heading to St. Charles so we can celebrate her birthday and Mother’s Day with family. I’ll probably drive back to Columbia Sunday late afternoon or evening so I can get some work done on this Design project.

I have a few other matters to tie up as well. Beyond all that, I’m feeling this panic about saying goodbye to Mizzou and all of my dear friends here. When I get back from Colorado, Meredith will be off in Boston getting ready to start grad school at Harvard. Many of my friends are graduating. Even if they aren’t, I won’t be in Columbia anymore. There are plenty of people to miss and almost no time to say proper goodbyes.

Growing up is exciting, but it can also be a little rough at times. I know God will take care of everything, but it’s hard not to feel harried. Dear Time: please slow down. Just for a while, can we be suspended in the continuum of forever? I need to catch my breath. I need to catch my life; it’s getting ahead of me. Time, don’t run so quickly. Let’s walk. Let’s stroll.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

