Here, There and Everywhere

To anyone who hasn’t forgotten me:

I am still alive and busy as ever. Michael and I arrived in Defiance late Monday night after a long drive home from Colorado. The trek across Kansas is still as boring as ever. Humidity slapped me in the face as I stepped out of the car into the Missouri air. Three months in the mountains left me unprepared for the old familiar feeling of a Midwestern heat wave.

This week has been a flurry of packing all his belongings and guessing what furniture we might want in our so far fictional home in Indiana. Yesterday a mover came to get an estimate of what they would be taking when the time comes. Michael has to be in Indiana tomorrow for a physical and starts his new job at Arcelormittal in Burns Harbor on Monday. He’ll be living in a hotel until we are able to find an apartment or house. I say “we” because I want to be in on planning our future, but I’ll live in St. Peters until our wedding on March 19. I’m excited and anxious to watch our new life unfold.

Meanwhile, I remember a night so thick with stars I could hardly find the sky behind. I think about the way the soft pink of early morning highlighted the mountains as I hiked from the doublewide trailer to the kitchen. The way the mist rose off the lake. The sounds of children laughing, singing, praising God. The feeling of hoisting a pack, of climbing a rock, of splashing into the Platte. The memories sound abstract, but they are solid in my mind. Look for much more to come about LVR. For now, back to  business.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, LVR. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

