Reading List

I should use my new-found free time to catch up on some reading. Reading for pleasure was an almost unknown luxury during college.Β  I have a Borders Rewards Card, a gift card to Barnes and Noble from my LVR sponsor, and an old St. Peters Public Library card that probably needs to be renewed. Now all I need to do is decide on some books to read. I’m not too interested in most new releases; I don’t care about Twilight or Tom Clancy. There are a lot of “life list” books that I haven’t opened yet. I wonder if I still have Rachel Harper’s recommended reading list from my freshman Honors Cultural Humanities class. I bet it’s somewhere on my laptop. I will search for it.

Meanwhile, if you happen to be reading my blog, please feel free to submit your suggestions. What is your favorite book of all time? What’s the best book you’ve read recently? What book are all your friends raving about and you can’t wait to get to it? Name some must-read classics that you’ll probably be astonished to hear I haven’t touched yet. Please and thank you!

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reading List

  1. Have you ever seen the build your own Tom Clancy novel website? It’s really funny. It’s like “The united states is facing a terrorist attack from (A. Russia, B. Iran C. other)” haha I don’t know if you like classics, but I really enjoyed East of Eden by Steinbeck…

  2. CStaude says:

    Definitely “The Help” by Stockett and “The Glass Castle” ( author presently escapes me)

  3. Mere says:

    I really liked Hunchback of Notre Dame, but it’s kinda depressing. Also, Persuasion might be my favorite Austen novel (even above P&P). I also always suggest Terry Pratchett to people, but they never listen 😦

  4. Nicole says:

    Thanks for the suggestions. I’m starting with The Time Traveler’s Wife. I also bought The Gurnsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, so I guess that’s next.

    Mere- I’ve already read Persuasion. It is good. I have not read Pride and Prejudice, so maybe that should go on the list. Perhaps I’ll read Terry Pratchett just to appease you πŸ™‚

    Nathan- I’ve heard East of Eden is good.

  5. piggyy says:

    Hugo is great β€”Β  Les Mis and hunchback.
    Rudyard Kipling β€” the jungle book, Kim and others.
    Gabriel Garcia Marquez β€”Β hundred years of solitude and love in the time of cholera
    George Orwell β€” 1984 and Animal Farm
    Adrian Nichole Leblanc β€” Random family (best non-fiction book of the last decade).
    Truman Capote β€” In Cold Blood (must read for journalists)
    Norman Mailer β€” The Naked and the Dead
    Ernest Hemingway β€” All of it
    F. Scott Fitzgerald β€” Great Gatsby
    Homer β€” The Iliad and the odyssey
    1001 Arabian nights
    Jack Kerouac β€” On the Road

    I could probably go on forever, but those are good books to start with. Also, you can pick a person you respect and read their biography.

  6. metamorphosisofthemind says:

    Here are my belated suggestions.

    Fiction: CS Lewis’s Space Trilogy (Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, That Hideous Strength)

    Philosophy: James W. Sire’s “The Universe Next Door”

    Nature: Edward Abbey’s “Desert Solitaire”

  7. Nicole says:

    Ah, you’re not belated. I have the rest of my life to read. Let the list keep growing!

Leave a Reply

