Emissions

I hate the environment.

That’s not true at all, but at the moment it is causing me problems. My car needs to pass an emissions test before I can renew my license plates. They expire at the end of the month, which is conveniently in a few days. A law passed recently that said cars with model  year 1995 or older don’t have to pass emissions. My car is a 1996. What luck. It has failed the test twice. It also failed safety the first time. Meineke replaced the muffler, exhaust pipe and resonator for around $300 but it’s still not good enough.

I don’t want to keep fixing this car.  Stupid environment. The government says that since I live near St. Louis my car must meet certain environmental standards. If I lived a bit farther out, they wouldn’t care. Maybe I should just bike everywhere. It would take me a long time to bike to Indiana though. Perhaps I can take a train.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emissions

  1. FleaStiff says:

    You know those emission testing things are a joke. The statutes and regulations support a massive testing industry and support an army of clerks and of course provide a subsidy to various repair stations. It would be cheaper to simply provide free cars to the owners of the worst vehicles.

    Reduce emissions? If you spend enough trying to make repairs they usually exempt your vehicle anyway and if you have a historical rather than merely old vehicle you are usually exempt from being regulated.

Leave a Reply

