Late-night insomniacal ramblings on Breakfast at Tiffany’s, etc.

It is unfortunate to find yourself awake with an empty stomach at 3 a.m. Especially when you’re supposed to be on a wedding dress/honeymoon bikini diet. Not to mention sick, which means sleep would be great.

Whoever suggests reading until you fall asleep has never experienced my brand of insomnia. It goes something like this. I can’t sleep because I’m thinking. It doesn’t matter what I’m thinking about; it could be completely mundane, but my brain is working it over intently and won’t let me rest. If I do fall asleep, I’ll just work it over in my dreams and wake up unrested. Reading just fuels the fire. It gives me something to think about. Chances are, I’ll finish the book and then lay awake for hours thinking about it. Tonight I read Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote. I wanted In Cold Blood, but it was checked out at the library and on reserve. Figured Breakfast at Tiffany’s would be a good warm-up. I liked it, so maybe I’ll just go out and buy In Cold Blood if I get too impatient for the library. I checked out a few other books too but am not sure if I’ll like them.

Before today, I was most familiar with Breakfast at Tiffany’s through the 1995 song by Deep Blue Something. That is to say I knew pretty much nothing about it. I knew the song referenced the Audrey Hepburn movie, which I have never seen. (According the Wikipedia page, the song was actually inspired by the Hepburn film Roman Holiday (one of my mom’s favorites, by the by), but Breakfast at Tiffany’s had a catchier title.) At any rate, I had to Google “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” to confirm the movie was based on the book. It is. I didn’t even know Capote wrote the book (novella, really, only about 100 pages) until I happened upon it today at the library. Great writing style. Catchy song, too. Suppose I should watch the movie. I’m terribly unversed in classics. I watched Casablanca for the first time more than halfway through college and have still never seen White Christmas, much to my dad’s consternation. What other classics are there? I watched Roman Holiday once, thanks to my mom. Other than those, you name it, I probably haven’t seen it.

This post is all over the place with randomness. Can you blame me? After all, it’s after 3 in the morning and I am definitely ill. With what, I cannot say. Hopefully I can get in to a doctor tomorrow. I should have tried to make an appointment sooner but I don’t really have a doctor and mostly prefer it that way. It started Monday night with a very sore throat. Most of my sicknesses start that way. I blame my pediatrician for not cutting out my tonsils when I was a child. He always told me I had huge tonsils and I got strep throat every year of my childhood. It’s amazing I haven’t developed a tolerance for amoxicillin yet. But I digress. Monday night, horrible sore throat. Tuesday the sore throat remained and a piercing headache joined the fun. Wednesday the headache was on and off but quite horrible. Thursday the same. Each of those nights I woke up at least once needing water and throat lozenges. Tonight (Thursday) my right eye started hurting. It’s tender when I blink or touch my eyelid. It’s also rather gooey. When I lean over or turn my head upside-down, it hurts like there’s pressure building up in or behind my eye. I know about turning my head upside-down because I was reading in bed and dangled myself to get something off the floor. At any rate, it may be pink eye. I’m no doctor and haven’t bothered to check WebMD, which I don’t really trust anyway.

I hope they can prescribe me some drugs and say I’m not contagious. It’s finally almost the weekend. Josh and Amy are coming in from St. Joe. Josh’s birthday was Wednesday, so we’ll be celebrating. He turned 25, ending the satisfying month when I am only one year younger than my brother. Amy’s watching their baby nephew Saturday. I love babies. I really hope I’m not contagious or else I’ll have to keep away from baby Mason. Sad. Sunday is Halloween so there might be a little shindig. Then Monday will come around and everyone will go back to work and it’ll be an awful shame if I wasted the weekend being sick.

I’ve found some useful ways to occupy my time lately (besides reading and my rabbit). My uncle is living with my mom and stepdad right now. He’s lived in California for several years, so it’s nice to get to spend time with him. Yesterday he made a delicious pork tenderloin roast with basil, arugula, sun-dried tomatoes, roasted yellow pepper and chevere cheese rolled up inside with a port wine demi-glace and garlic mashed potatoes. He’s always been quite the chef. This week I started training as a volunteer at the Pregnancy Resource Center in St. Peters. Even though it’s a volunteer position, we went through a formal hiring process. I’m excited to get to work, but there’s a lot of training before I’ll be ready to work with clients. Once I’m done being sick, I intend to suggest that I could at least help sort donations in between training sessions. We train once a week, on Tuesdays, but I’m available pretty much every day.

I should probably be doing a lot of wedding stuff, but I just haven’t been motivated for that lately. Not that I’m not excited about it. I just hate to do the planning alone, and there aren’t many people around to do it with me. I’ll get it done though.

Last weekend I went to Columbia for my first homecoming as a Mizzou alum. I keep meaning to write a blog about it, but then I get started and it doesn’t seem exciting enough. So maybe I’ll just mention it here. Oh, it was plenty exciting. It was about the best football game you could ask for. My buddy David and I went with general admission grass tickets. It was packed and we ended up standing on the whitewashed rocks of the giant M. Other than a little rain, the weather was way better than I had expected. We scored in like the first 14 seconds of the game and went on to beat the (then) No. 1 ranked Oklahoma Sooners. Final score: 36 – 27. The game was close and exciting all the way through. With a few seconds still on the clock, Mizzou fans rushed the field and tore down the goalposts. David and I waited a good long time to make sure we wouldn’t get arrested, then ran out onto the field after it was already packed. 30 people (out of about 10,000) got arrested for rushing the field. The university dropped the charges. I wonder what life would be like if they were always that generous. We followed the uprights, which were paraded in a mob downtown to Harpos. People pulled saws out of nowhere to cut up their personal pieces of history. A packed crowd of rowdy (and some drunken) fans with saws seemed like a recipe for disaster, so we escaped the mob and scored some late night food at Pickleman’s Deli (delicious, by the way). I also enjoyed part of the parade earlier that morning and some good hang out time with my friend Ashley, who so kindly let me stay at her house for the weekend. The only thing that could have made my first homecoming better would have been if Meredith were there. But she somehow convinced her fellow Harvard-mates to host a watch party and was with me via text throughout the festivities. All in all, it was pretty great.

Well, 3 a.m has given way to 4 and I’m no less hungry or sick. I know from my Psychology of Sleep and Sleep Disorders class that I should absolutely not be on my laptop in bed in the middle of the night. It will mess me up. (Un)luckily, I’m already messed up. I’m also not feeling any sleepier. The temptation to go get a little snack is strong. Instead, I will finish this bottle of water, close my eyes and breathe deeply. Perhaps my body will be tricked into sleep. Perhaps I need a lullaby.

“You say that we’ve got nothing in common, no common ground to start from. And we’re falling apart. You say the world has come between us. Our lives have come between us. But I know you just don’t care. And I said, What about Breakfast at Tiffany’s? She said, I think I remember the film. And as I recall, I think we both kinda liked it. And I said, Well that’s the one thing we’ve got.”

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it, Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Late-night insomniacal ramblings on Breakfast at Tiffany’s, etc.

  1. FoolsGold says:

    >Wedding Dress Diet; Honeymoon Bikini Diet.
    LOL.
    He loves YOU.
    Go up a dress size or down a dress size and its still YOU that he loves, so don’t worry about it. Just be happy!

  2. Nicole says:

    Thanks 🙂

  3. John says:

    I agree with you that was one rambling blog. What I want you to watch is “It’s a Wonderful Life.” “White Christmas” is Jane’s suggestion.

  4. Nicole says:

    Oh right. “It’s a Wonderful Life,” “White Christmas”…I don’t know the difference. I’ll work on it though.

Leave a Reply

