Taking the “happy” out of Happy Meals and other news of the day

San Francisco has passed an ordinance banning McDonald’s from serving toys in their Happy Meals. Although McDonald’s is getting the main attention, the ordinance bans all restaurants from putting a toy in a kid’s meal unless the food and drink combined have fewer than 600 calories with less than 35% of those being calories from fat.

Don’t get my wrong, I’m anti-childhood obesity. But I seriously don’t believe that the solution comes from government intervention like this. Is McDonald’s to blame that kids are fat? No. It’s the parents’ fault for buying their kids fast food so often and providing them with a sedentary lifestyle.

I was raised that fast food was an occasional meal, maybe once a month. Mostly, my mom cooked our food. And she didn’t stock the house with junk food. We weren’t forbidden to eat potato chips, we just didn’t have any. Now that I’m in my 20s, I mostly continue in that lifestyle. I would rather snack on fresh fruit and veggies than gross greasy stuff. I have junk when I want it and I don’t want it every day. On the other hand, I know families that consume a lot of unhealthy food but are constantly engaged in healthy physical activity. They spend their free time hiking, riding bikes, and having fun burning off those extra calories. It’s called balance. Moderation. Common sense.

America is so seriously lacking in common sense that people think they need the government to step in and save them from Happy Meals. And what does the toy have to do with anything? It’s still a kid’s meal even without a toy. This ordinance makes no sense at all. Got my facts from this LA Times article.

On a semi-related note, I ate a fresh pomegranate yesterday. It only took me like an hour and a half. San Francisco should require all Happy Meals to include a pomegranate, and parents should make their kids get every last aril out before they’re allowed to play with the toy. Now there’s a diet!

In other news, Bristol Palin still hasn’t gotten the boot from Dancing With the Stars, despite her total lack of musicality, rhythm, or dancing skills. She consistently gets the worst scores but the viewers just keep voting for her. There is no justice. Kurt Warner danced his last tonight. Oh well, he was the second-worst of the remaining stars. As a disclaimer, I am ashamed of watching (and worse yet, caring about) Dancing With the Stars. I blame my dad and stepmom. They starting watching it for Warner and got sucked in and I fell victim by association. It does draw you in.

Finally, I do have a life of my own. I’m over halfway through the first portion of training for work at the local Pregnancy Resource Center. The second portion will involve shadowing current volunteers during counseling and parenting classes. I’m learning a lot going through the manual and am excited to get to the hands-on portion. I had my wedding dress fitting on Saturday and my mom paid up the balance. It only needed one alteration so in a few weeks I can take it home with me. Save-the-dates are printed and should be in the mail by the end of the week. I’m about to buy my first new pair of glasses since I got my first set of frames about 10 years ago. Maybe a new look for me? I’ll still mostly stick to contacts. And that’s my life this week in a nutshell.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Taking the “happy” out of Happy Meals and other news of the day

  1. Mom says:

    Like.
    Except the pomegranate part, I’d choose something a little more worth the effort.
    Thanks for the approval, it means a lot to me.
    Did you find something to do outside?
    Wish I didn’t have to go to work, I’d go for a bike-ride with you.

  2. Nicole says:

    Yeah, the pomegranate wasn’t bad. It was an adventure. But I don’t think I’ll be getting another one any time soon. First there’s all that effort to pop out the little arils (it is much easier if you section it and put the sections in a bowl of water, but still a pain). After that, each little bit is still like 90% seed. So you can either swallow all the seeds (I started to do that but was warned of the next-day consequences…) or try really hard to get something of value off them before having to spit out an ever-growing mound. I don’t know why pomegranates are so popular now. “Super fruit.” More like super frustrating.

  3. Nicole says:

    PS- Thanks for not letting me be as obese in my childhood as I was in my babyhood. I wish you didn’t have to go to work, either. I’m going for a bike ride right now.

  4. FoolsGold says:

    America… Land of the Free.

  5. John says:

    You have in a nutshell just experienced the difference between a political liberal and a conservative. The liberals want the government to take care of everything because you are not smart enough to do it on your own.

Leave a Reply

