Blog Facelift

I’ve grown bored with my blog’s visual theme (MistyLook by Sadish). There were only so many choices when I launched this blog back in 2008. To be honest, blogging was a requirement for my online journalism class. I didn’t anticipate enjoying it and figured it would end the day the class did. Here I am a couple years later, still blogging.

So anyway, I want to give my blog a facelift. I’ve changed my header photo a few times, but that never quite does the trick. A new theme is in order. WordPress offers quite a few, several of which I like. Customizable header photo is an absolute must. It makes my blog mine. I want the layout to be clean and easy.

I created a secret blog about a month ago. My username doesn’t give me away and there’s no personally identifiable information anywhere on that blog. A lot of people blog like that, free to speak with the veil of anonymity. While I never lie on A wandering mind, I do occasionally have to censor the information I put out in order to protect myself, friends and family. It’s called discretion. But if I’m absolutely careful never to leak enough info that people can link me to my anonymous blog, I can truly write about anything and everything.

Anyway, the point is that I got to create the new blog with a fresh look. It looks better than this one. That seems silly since I have about zero hits on it and no one can appreciate it as mine. So the anonymous blog inspired me to doll this one up a bit.

I may experiment with a few different looks before I commit to one. I hope this isn’t too unsettling for regular followers. I recognize that familiarity breeds contentment. But it’s not like I’m a brand that needs to be immediately recognizable. So hold onto your hats. A bit of change is on the way.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Random News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Facelift

  1. Nicole says:

    New theme is Ocean Mist by Ed Merritt. I wanted WordPress’ Twenty Ten theme, but then I got excited about customizable fonts through Typekit. I couldn’t customize the fonts on Twenty Ten, so I gave it up. Now I have a nice scripty header. I’m sure my Design TA would gag if she saw it. Good thing I’m not in college anymore.

  2. Nicole says:

    I liked the way Ocean Mist looked, but it was far too narrow. It’s hard to read such a skinny column of text. I also couldn’t find any way to display recent comments, which was quite bothersome. So now I’m trying Twenty Ten. It’s similar to my old MistyLook theme, but maybe better.

Leave a Reply

