Employment

Today was my first day of work. I started a temp job at my mom’s accounting firm. It required no interview and no application. My mom emailed the partners, suggested that I could help out during tax season, and they said OK. I went in so they could explain the job and ask if I wanted it and tell me when to come in. That was it. If only all jobs could be attained with such ease.

Accounting sounds like exactly what I wouldn’t want to do. I hate math of all kinds. Luckily, this job has very little to do with math. I like to call myself the assistant to the administrative assistant, or more accurately, the girl who does whatever random odd jobs no one else wants to or has time to do. It’s not a bad gig for part-time. I’m making above minimum wage and using…minimum skill, I would say. Of course, it was only my first day.

I showed up at the early hour of 10:30 a.m. So no rush hour for me. From then until lunch, I weighed envelopes and sorted them according to how much postage they would cost. Then we ate in the conference room for half an hour. Then I started folding letters to stuff into envelopes that we don’t have yet. That didn’t last long, because they brought me something else to do. For the rest of the day, I did data entry. I’m not an accountant, and I don’t even know the name of what I was doing. I entered info about checks and at the end of each page I added it up on an adding machine to make sure I had keyed all the numbers correctly. Yep, it’s a pretty strenuous task.

But I do have to admit, I’m painfully slow at it. I got faster as the day went on, but that’s not saying much. It took me about 5 minutes to do something on the adding machine that my mom did in 30 seconds. And sometimes I keyed something wrong and had to go back and find it and fix it. I’m stunted by the fact that my laptop doesn’t have a number pad, so it’s hunt-and-peck number typing for me. But give me a few days and I’m sure I’ll improve infinitely. Then I’ll stuff those envelopes when they come in, and I’ll go greet clients when the door dings and  I’ll answer phones.

It’s certainly not writing for Outside Magazine or teaching Literature and Journalism. But for the next two and a half months, it will be nice to do something useful and earn some money. Here’s to employment.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

