An emergency hay run

“Bianca,” I said to my rabbit, “I’m going on an emergency hay run. Why? Because I love you!”

She looked at me indifferently.

“If I die, take care of Michael.”

The rabbit regarded me through half-shut eyes. Right then, off I go.

My mom had just called to say the partners didn’t think I should come in today. If the weathermen are trustworthy, we’re about to get hit with several inches of ice. It’s raining and it’s freezing. But it wasn’t bad yet, and Bianca needed more hay.

“Bi-aaaaaaancaaaaa, I’m ho-ooooooome!” I called on my return.

She lay on the second floor of her cottage, legs hidden under her body, head tucked down like a roosting duck.

I sang to Bianca in the tune of “For the Longest Time” by Billy Joel:

“Ha-aa-aa-aaay, do you want some hay? Ha-aa-ay. Do you want some hay?”

She didn’t respond. Sometimes I think she doesn’t appreciate me all that much.

But she was on her feet when she heard the rustle of the bag. She lept out the cottage window and ran to my side. She may not appreciate my singing, but she does appreciate hay.

Why did I write this blog? I’m stuck inside, enjoying an ice day off work. What better way to spend it than to write about my rabbit.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An emergency hay run

  1. Mere says:

    Bianca cares not about ice storms or your bravery in going out to get hay. She expects you to get her more hay even if you have to walk to the store in a blizzard. Nonetheless (is that really one word?) she is adorable. I miss Bianca. And you. Hope you survive the storm!

  2. Nicole says:

    I can’t really blame her that much. It’s actually my fault that I had to go out today – I’ve known for a while that it was time to get more hay. But I forgot every time I went out and let it completely run out before I got more. She was thinking I better go get her some hay or she was going to consider my hair an acceptable substitute.

  3. Anonymous says:

    sounds like a rabbit abuse to me. I think the people at PETA will be very intersted in this.

Leave a Reply

