Catching up

I’ve become too self-conscious about my blog. The number one rule of writing is to write something every day, whether it’s mundane or spectacular. But I spend a lot of time re-reading my old posts. Many are poorly written or just dumb. Who cares? Since when do I have an ego? I do write for an audience, but I ultimately write for myself. Lately, I hold back from writing if I don’t think I have anything important to say. That’s dumb, too. So here’s my day-to-day. If you don’t like it, don’t read it.

We’ve had a ton of snow so far this winter. People coined the phrases like snowpocalypse (my favorite) and snowmageddon. Getting snowed in is fun, but I hope it’s done by mid-March. I’m getting married in six weeks. People ask if I can believe it. I say yes. Absolutely I believe it. And it’s about time! Almost all the major planning is done. But every time I start to relax, I think of 50 or so little things to be completed. I don’t like to freak out, but I do tend to forget about details until the last minute. I want to make sure everything goes smooth the day of.

We finally booked our honeymoon on Michael’s birthday (January 28). Hawaii! We’ll spend four nights on Kauai and four on Maui. I’ve been there once on a family trip when I was 12. I can’t wait to go back. I can’t wait for our honeymoon! Michael’s parents are graciously paying for most of it as a wedding present, so we’ll have some spending money for activities like snorkeling, zip lining and whale watching cruise. But we’ll probably spend a good portion of our time hiking. It’s our thing.

Michael’s job in the steel mill is still rough, but it seems to be getting better. That or he’s just getting used to it. He’s been there almost six months, which is hard to believe. I’m ready for this separation to be over. He doesn’t have nearly as much time to talk on the phone as I’ve come to expect in our long-distance relationship. LVR prepared us for that, but I still hate feeling disconnected from him. The worst is when we do talk and run out of things to say. It seems like all we do these days is work. Welcome to the real world.

My job at the accounting firm isn’t too bad for a temporary job. The atmosphere is good. I like the people and the partners are very flexible with me. There are plenty of perks to working with my mom. She’s sort of like my agent. She got me the job; she listed my credentials in an email so I never had to fill out an application. She negotiates my tasks and time off. I’m more apt to do what I’m told and not rock the boat. The partners and I tend to use her as a middle man in communication. Not my most ambitious career move, but it’s fine for a few months. She commented once in pity that everything I do is either tedious and mundane or completely foreign. I said that’s the nature of a journalist working for an accounting firm. If it’s not mindless, I probably don’t know how to do it.

I’m plotting my next career move in Indiana. I always feel like a bit of a failure when someone asks me what I’m doing when I get there. The answer is I don’t know. But that doesn’t mean I’m not working on it. I’m tentatively excited about all the opportunities. I say tentatively because I’m also intimidated. But I refuse to settle for mediocrity. The current sermon series at church is “Living a Life of Significance.” My favorite so far was the week Vicar Biesendorfer said that our significance is our impact on other people, not necessarily our career. But of course my career will position me for what kind of impact I can have. Career is only part of vocation, but it is the most tangible part I can focus on now. Whatever comes, I know God has a plan for me. I need to pray that God will enable me to lead a life of significance now and in the life I’m trying to create.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

