A shower, a future, a glimmer of a plan

I’ve gotten a lot of wedding stuff done lately. I’m getting so much done, pretty soon there won’t be anything left to do. And that is a good thing. I’m getting married in five weeks.

My future mother-in-law hosted a shower for me today. It was nice to spend some time with all the women from both sides of Michael’s family. Now I have another load of gifts to haul to Indiana. We’re really going to need a bigger kitchen. We have so many kitchen appliances; he’s already storing the food processor in the linen closet. I hope I’m a good chef. Years of watching Food Network must count for something, right? I’m good at following recipes, but I’m not a pro at creating meals on the fly. I guess that will come with time and practice.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what kind of job I’ll look for in Indiana. People keep asking me what I’m doing. I hate saying I don’t know. I need to figure out how to get my journalism clips together in a good format. None of my professors ever told me how to do that. I have links to my stories online, hard copies and the original pre-publication Word files. When you apply for jobs, they want you to email your clips. I need a digital portfolio. I should have figured this out while I was still at Mizzou. Maybe I can still drive to Columbia sometime and get help with it. I’ve looked at a few regional magazines. I think big-name, major publications intimidate me too much. But I do love to write. Maybe a local or regional magazine would be a good fit.

I’m still interested in teaching, but I don’t know if now is the right time to pursue it. We may not stay in Indiana for very long. Each state has a different teacher certification program. I would hate to start one and then move and have to start all over again. I’d really like to get a job in the church or with a pro-life organization. I know those jobs are out there, but they can be hard to find. I should be looking for a job now, but I’m always either working or wedding planning or trying to spend time with everyone before I move.

It will certainly be interesting to see how things turn out.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

