Sleep would be wonderful

I hardly slept at all last night. This time it wasn’t because the rabbit was being loud. My brain just would not stop. I tried lying in bed with my eyes closed, I tried reading, I tried drinking water, eating a granola bar (my stomach seemed to be wanting something). It was all to no avail. I anticipate a really long day at work today. Exhaustion and tedium don’t usually mix well. Stinking insomnia.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sleep would be wonderful

  1. FoolsGold says:

    Most sleep efficiency experts suggest that although transient bouts of insomnia are often of no great concern that you do not get into the habit of lying there unable to sleep. If after a reasonable interval you find yourself unable to sleep, get out of the bed and out of the bedroom. Go back when you feel sleep onset is more likely but do not allow the bedroom to become associated with insomnia.

  2. Nicole says:

    Yes, I’ve read all those things. I took a class on the psychology of sleep and sleep disorders. The problem is that I’ve had on and off insomnia most of my life, so I have spent a lot of time lying awake in bed. I break all the rules. Needless to say, it doesn’t help.

  3. FoolsGold says:

    I too have sleep problems (and not just because I’m a mass murderer), I’ve had sleep apnea literally since infancy and at one very busy sleep lab I was the lowest brain oxygen level the researcher had ever seen in his career. The worst part of finally getting diagnosed is the years that were lost and recalling that decades before I had told one doctor that I didn’t think I was getting enough oxygen and he dismissed my concerns as utter nonsense.

Leave a Reply

