Amish bread on a lazy day

Today my mom and I baked Amish friendship bread. It’s amazing that the bag of off-white goop that’s been fermenting on my counter for 10 days can taste so good. Now I need to learn to make Grandma Laskowsky’s homemade bread. Michael begs me to learn it.

I also went grocery shopping, gave in to a nap (bad news for my sleep schedule tonight), and went shopping with my mom. It was, in all, a lazy day.

St. Charles has enjoyed some warmth lately. As a result, I’ve somewhat awoken from my hibernation. Thursday, they let me leave work at 12:30 to enjoy the unusual 60 degree weather and sunshine. I rode my bike on the Katy Trail from Weldon Spring to Klondike Park. That’s barely any distance at all, but the gravel was still rather soggy from all the snow melt. Soggy gravel is unpleasant to bike on; I really had to muscle through it. So I spent some time just sitting and enjoying the views. I’ve never started in Weldon Spring before, oddly enough. Always passed it for Defiance, Klondike, or Dutzow if I was going out that way. It’s a nice stretch of trail.

Saturday I went hiking with my good friends the Clausings. We settled for more of a long walk rather than a rustic hike (again, due to soggy ground). We hiked from Pere Marquette Lodge to downtown Grafton, IL. The weather was a bit on the chilly side when it was cloudy and windy, but quite nice when the sun was out. It’s always great to get out and do something amidst the blahs of winter.

Now I’m just waiting for the slightest hint of a sleepy feeling before I crawl into bed. Tonight will most likely be a losing battle for sleep.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

