Here comes the dress

Today I brought my wedding dress home. It has been a long journey since I first laid eyes on the dress back in May. Who knew the hardest thing would be storing it for these last three weeks? The dress’ train is huge (cathedral length), and has to be stored spread out so it doesn’t wrinkle since it’s already been steamed and pressed. We tried three different spots in my dad’s house before we found one. It will only work until my brother and sister-in-law arrive since it’s blocking the door to their room. I really want to write more about it and post pictures, but that’ll have to wait three more weeks. Mustn’t spoil the surprise!

I really feel like wedding planning is almost done. I just have to be careful not to relax too much; there are still some things to do. I’m starting to get excited for the wedding itself. I’ve been excited about the honeymoon ever since we booked it. Most of all, I’m just ready to finally be with Michael every day. Thursday was our ten-year anniversary. We weren’t allowed to date for the first couple years together. But at least then we saw each other every day but Saturday (at school and church). Then we had high school, when we could date and see each other every day. For the past four and a half years we’ve been dating long distance. The hour and half drive to see each other in college wasn’t bad. These last six months, being six hours apart has been very hard. In three short weeks we will finally be married and live together! I’ve been waiting to be his bride since sixth grade.

Now I just have to track down all the invitees who haven’t responded. The deadline to RSVP was today, and we’ve gotten responses from around 50%. The reception hall needs a number by next weekend. The number is a huge deal because it determines how much this shindig will cost.

I’m listening to “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” by Bobby McFerrin and grinning. Life is good.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

