Easter

I want to write about God, but all of my words fall short. How can anything I say bring him glory?

In the spirit of Lent, I need some introspection. Daily, hourly I fail to fulfill God’s calling. Everything I do wrong and everything I don’t do right bears witness against me. Jesus entrusted me to be his ambassador. I represent him so poorly, he is unrecognizable through the haze of my selfishness, pride and apathy. Every person whose life touches mine should experience the love of Jesus. Instead, they see me, me, me. How can I draw them toward the truth that way? It was for me that God became human, to show me how to live. It was for me that God was tortured to death, so my sins would be paid for.

It was for me that God raised himself from the dead, securing my eternal salvation. The gates of hell are broken. Death is defeated. What can I be afraid of? I will live forever in relationship with my God. I am perfectly loved.

Talk is cheap. I talk a lot. God, give me a life to match my claims. The only response to God’s love is love. Let me love perfectly. Let me serve perfectly. I pray everything that is selfish, everything that is me be destroyed and buried – crucified with Christ. There is no room for me, for Jesus brings me a new life: his life.

This life is for you, too. It’s a gift with no strings attached. You don’t have to be good enough because you can’t possibly be good enough. Guilt is gone. Pain is healed. Peace is real. Love covers over everything. There is no greater hope than this.

Jesus Christ is risen today. Alleluia!

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

