Summertime, Part 1: Missouri and Camp Chaos

Usually, a lack of blogging is a good sign. Life is lived much better away from a computer screen.

The unfolding of summer has provided me with things to do. In the interest of keeping posts relatively short (something I always fail at), I will break up my summertime happenings thus far into a few different posts.

In May, I spent a full week back in Missouri. I celebrated Mother’s Day a week late with my mom and grandma. We saw a play performed by a small theater guild and ate at Macaroni Grill. I must be a real adult because I picked up the tab. I also got to spend some time with my dad and stepmom and my good friends Shannon and Shanna. Michael came home for a couple days when he had his “weekend” in the middle of the week. It was good to have more than a weekend to squeeze in everything I wanted to do in Missouri, but it was still a whirlwind visit. There’s never enough time.

The following weekend, my home church’s youth group took their annual retreat (dubbed Camp Chaos) to Camp Wartburg in Waterloo, Illinois. I’ve been going to Camp Chaos since its inception in 2005. Youth group was an important part of my faith and social life in high school. I’m jazzed that even after college, I can keep coming back for at least one event a year to contribute and develop relationships with the kids who are involved now. Most of the chaperons are Chaos youth group alums. It’s cool to see how our Chaos relationships have stayed with us. Although my husband couldn’t make it this year, he’s also a Chaos alum. Another couple, Stephanie and Craig, started their relationship at youth group, are now married and have a baby girl. Just a few examples of how God has blessed our lives through this group. I pray the group stays strong and continues to grow. When I first got involved as an eighth grader, there were about six or seven really active members, with some others who would occasionally show up. This year, Camp Chaos drew around 60 kids and required 9 chaperons. Some of the women leaders slept on air mattresses because the cabin beds were all full. It’s awesome how God is blessing this ministry.

I was so thankful to be a part of the trip, but by the end I felt I was overdue back in Indiana. A week and two weekends is too long for a new wife to be away from home and husband. It occurred to me that while Missouri will always be home and family, Indiana is home now and Michael is my family. I gratefully returned to Hoosierville and was back in our apartment waiting for Michael when he got home from work. My past life was good. My present life is good, too.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Contentment, Life as we know it, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

