A morning and an evening

I woke up this morning and found I couldn’t go back to sleep. Typically I have trouble sleeping at night but am a champion morning sleeper. My head was full of car shopping, Meredith’s impending visit, everything I should be accomplishing and songs I listened to yesterday. I didn’t have that cozy snuggle up in bed feeling, so I got up.

The sky is light gray with patches of blue trying to come through. Everything is damp. It must have rained in the early morning hours. I won’t have to water my flowers today. We’ve been enjoying a lovely coolness this week since the heat wave finally broke.

Yesterday evening the weather drew me out on a bike ride. Twilight is best this time of year. The day slowly retreats and the night slips out to take her place. For a while, it is neither light nor dark. Noises are half-muted, as if underwater. Pinpricks of sound become clear – the first chirps of crickets, the evening song of robins. People go in; fireflies come out. Houses lose detail as they recede into growing darkness. Instead of noticing the architecture, I see the lights through windows. Out here on the dark street, everyone seems the same. But each person in this neighborhood is experiencing a different moment at the same moment. I see the world only one way. Layers upon layers of perspective and impression filter through my brain. Everything I observe is interpreted by who I am before I have a chance to see it for what it is. If I didn’t believe in God, I might doubt the existence of verifiable truth.

The way the air feels is uniquely Midwestern. I can’t decide whether to break a sweat or wish for a light jacket. The air is cool and so surprising after the heat. But the humidity still hugs me like a damp blanket. To me, the evening is peaceful and perfect for introspection as I weave up and down each street. I wish I could wander farther and farther into the night. But my mom’s voice warns me I’ll get hit by a car biking on the road in the dark. But I’ve turned on my little lights, I think. Still. I consider what it might feel like to be smacked by a car, and I ponder how many people’s day would be ruined by the event. So I go home.

And here I am, alive to see another Wednesday morning. I feel adrift in time. I wonder, when I look back on these days, what will be the anchoring moments that define my memories?

My husband is awake. Back to car shopping and the things I should be getting done.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

