In a nutshell

The goings-on of me:

Meredith came to visit for a week after going to Branson to surprise her family. The week was far too short. We decided she should do her post-doc wherever Michael and I are living at that time.

We went on a float trip in Steelville, MO with Michael’s Rolla friends and towed my car back to Indiana with my dad’s F-150, which is my temporary ride until we return it to Missouri.

Michael and I went to the Lake County Fair with Trinity’s H20 young adult group. Three fair rides were enough to make us both queasy. I wish we had more time. It was my first fair.

Michael was supposed to meet with his boss about his future with the company, but he keeps getting put off. He’s been told so many different things, I don’t know what to think. His co-worker who started after him is being moved to a straight day job within a week or two. This means the rest of the melters will either have to start working twelve-hour shifts again or no time off will be possible for anyone until Tom’s replacement is ready to melt on his own. Michael got an extremely positive twelve-month review. I’m so proud of him. This job has been an ordeal. He has shined by staying positive, adapting to a situation that wasn’t what he expected, winning the respect of men he’s in charge of who are his father’s age with way more experience, and impressing the people in charge. He’s smart enough and determined enough to succeed in what may be one of the hardest jobs imaginable. Hopefully his hard work will reward him with a more pleasant job soon. Supposedly he may get moved to days in three months or so. We’ll see.

I’ve been added to the substitute teaching list at Trinity in Crown Point. Hopefully my license with the DOE will be completed very soon and I can get on with other Lutheran elementary schools in the area as well. Hopefully I can buy a car soon so I’ll have a way to get to work. The car search has stalled as of late.

The weather has been perfect this week. All I want to do is sit outside and read. I recently finished Captain Corelli’s Mandolin. It is an excellent book set during the Italian occupation of a Greek island in WWII. A Farewell to Arms meets Love in the Time of Cholera and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society with a writing style like Steinbeck’s in East of Eden. Kurt Vonnegut advised writers: “Be a sadist. No matter how sweet and innocent your leading characters, make awful things happen to them—in order that the reader may see what they are made of.” Louis de Bernieres does this with vigor in Corelli’s Mandolin, so be prepared to get emotional. But he mixes tragedy with enough lightness and hope that you are never overwhelmed enough to want to put the book down. I recommend it to everyone. I’m currently reading Tess of the D’Urbervilles.

Yesterday I awoke to a text message that Ryan Ferguson had been granted a new trial. My friend David heard something about it on the radio and thought of me. I got on my computer with great enthusiasm. In actuality, Ferguson was granted a new evidentiary hearing, not a new trial. It is set for October 25. The extremely slow judicial process continues.

That’s me right now. Now I’m going outside to read.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In a nutshell

  1. Mom says:

    Maybe the release of the West Memphis 3 (against whom there was NO evidence) sparks hope that Ryan Ferguson will also find justice…

Leave a Reply

