High school teacher?

Current favorite potential future career: high school teacher.

In the past few months, I’ve been thinking I’d rather go for a college teaching position. Other ideas have included seeking a paid youth ministry position at a church, becoming a travel agent, pursuing a writing career, or teaching elementary school.

This past weekend, I helped chaperon my high school’s senior retreat. And I remembered why I want to be a high school teacher. I love high school kids. They’re at such a formative age. They’re gaining the some of the responsibility of adulthood while still enjoying much of  carefree youth. When a group of teenagers are just hanging out together goofing off, they can seem hopelessly immature. But when you get to know them and engage them; they’re capable of incredible depth.

I can relate to high school students. I remember what it was like to be them. I’ve gotten involved with junior high ministry at my church. And while I like doing it, I’m surprised at how much I struggle to relate to those kids. A few years makes a huge difference.

If I’m honest, I was thinking of being a professor because it seems like a cushier job. But I think high school might be more personally rewarding. In general, high school teachers will get to know their students far better than college profs ever could. Especially in smaller school, you get to know the kids over four years and see how they grow and mature. And you often get to understand the larger context of their lives like who they hang out with and what their families are like. I also think high school faculties have a much more intimate relationship to each other than college faculties. Of course, all of this could be specific to my small Lutheran high school in comparison to my large, public university.

At any rate, I had an awesome time helping with the retreat.

Now I need to spend more time in prayer, seeking God’s will for my life. Because in reality, His plans are the only ones that matter.

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Life as we know it and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

