Reading more than words

Recently I’ve been too full of thoughts to blog. Each day I have at least five directions I want to go. I can’t decide; nothing at all is written.

Tonight I finished an essay anthology I bought when Borders was going under. I was sorry to complete it. At the end of each essay, I tried to make myself pause. I sat and thought. I paged back through to notice and re-notice things. Many of them made me want to write.

An essay, like a song, is magic. The words are more than words. They are image, memory, emotion. They are power. Something strange happens. The essay is personal, exposing an intimate slice of the author. Yet when I read it, I press the words into my own mold. They become unique to me. The essay is like an inkblot test. I peer into it and start to unlock my own emotions and memories.

The anthology, which was edited by a professor at my alma mater, included questions after each essay. They’re meant to help students analyze the style and techniques of each writer. But I can’t critique an essay that way after the first reading. My initial impressions are far more abstract. I finish with a “wow” or a “huh.” With an argument or a kinship or a sadness.

Writing is a source of free therapy for me. But sometimes it takes reading someone else’s therapy to discover that in me which I didn’t know was there.

 

About Nicole

Daughter of God, wife, mother, volunteer youth leader, substitute teacher, aspiring writer, rabbit owner, nature lover. These are some of my titles.
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

